We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My family of three loved it! The rooms have just been renovated. Dad loved the LG Flat Screen in the rooms and the beds are super comfortable. We have been staying at this HI over the past five years and we just love the new look. The Holidome is a great place for our group to visit and the adults can play cards when the kids retire for the evening.

Great freindly staff and love that kids eat free!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 287 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2007

My family celebrated Christmas at this hotel, and we had a terrific time! The hotel (or most of it) has been completely redone and it looks great. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and granted our request for adjoining rooms poolside. There was free pop-a-shot right outside our room. The only downside to being poolside was it was really loud until about 11pm (but we didn't care!). There was a buffett breakfast for $8.50 and kids eat free with a paid adult. We will go back next year!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank olive1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

The Hotel is now done with renovations with a few exceptions. The first floor is still being worked on however is closed off by pad locked doors so there are no disturbances to incoming guest and there are a few minor touches still left for the front desk area. However the lobby is brand new the restaurant is brand new and the holidome is brand new.. not to mention all of the rentable rooms are brand new as well... this hotel has definitely done a 180. And to top it all off, the service is OUTSTANDING! I mean these people go above and beyond everyday to make every guest stay a memorable experience. This hotel is awesome. I would highly recommend that if you did stay here during the remodel that you come back and give them another chance. I am serious when I say this hotel is almost right up there with the Radisson.... UNBELIEVABLE!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spidybake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

As stated before this hotel is under MAJOR renovations and should be closed to the public until it is complete. I am surprised the city or other gov't agency hasnt intervened yet. The carpet is tore up in the halls and you cannot roll you bags or even walk safely for that matter as plastic sheets are spread everywhere. Most of the rooms are totally empty including no walls and no doors (plenty of places for vagrants to hide) only half the hallway has lights and when there are lights its construction type lights taped to the wall. Also in the hallway blocking any type of emergency escape path are all the doors on their sides, mirrors, chairs, garbage. My co-worker tripped on a door hinge in the hallway in the part with no lights - It is absolutely disgusting and clearly a major safety and security issue.

There are no signs anywhere advising you of the current condition of the hotel. The pool is closed, the exercise room is closed, only maybe a 1/4 of the rooms are useable and they are at the very end of the hallway.

I understand renovations are necessary, but they should just close the place for a month and get the work done rather than possibly injuring and creating security issues for the few guests they were able to deceive in to staying here.

As a side note, their official website makes no mention of the chaos either. So in short - you have been warned more than once by members on this website - STAY CLEAR of this SAFETY and SECURITY HAZARD dump (at least for the next few months if not forever)!

The owners/managers who placed people into this horrible situation should be fined and forbidden from endangering peoples lives again in the future. What may be fine for hardhat wearing construction guys is not for the general public.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 36000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

I am staying here for this week for my job and my company booked these rooms! Very tired looking lobby and hallways, doors to rooms are scuffed awfully, bathroom looks well worn down, ALL Holidome including indoor pool and workout facilities are closed until the middle of June 2007 due to renovations which are agreeably sorely needed BUT wish it was not now. They also made us move all of our cars to the very far end of the parking lot which is not lit and does not look very secure as they're tearing up the entire main parking lot this week! Maybe when complete it will be a nice place but for now do yourself a favor and stay away!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LisaRz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2007

If you're a business traveler and you need to stay in Kalamazoo, this Holiday Inn certainly fills the bill. During my stay, it was in the middle of an upgrade, but even as is, it was comfortable. Staff was friendly and attentive.
The on-site restaurant and bar is clearly popular with the local community. It was crowded on a Monday night. The hotel rooms overlook a huge interior court, and the sounds of the restaurant and pool hall were audible but not distracting.
The predictable breakfast buffet was just fine and reasonably priced.
Very easy access from the main thoroughfare. By car, no more than 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Capital Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

I am amazed that facilities like this is are still operating in the United States today. This hotel, from the moment we arrived consistently dissappointed and disgusted all members off our party. What you will find out when you arrive is that the hotel is old, filthy and allows children's birthday parties of non guests in the Holidome. With no exageration I can say there were AT LEAST 75-100 children under the age of 12 swimming, runnining the halls eating and drinking everywhere ( including the disgusting bathrooms). The adults who were hosting the party were no where to be found. Our children were unable to use the pool this visit due to overcrowding and general chaos in the entire Holidome area.
Our room was REALLY gross!!! The floor were stained with God only knows as well as blood spots in the bathtub. The door to the bathroom was broken with some large yellow stains on it. (pictures included) Like others on trip advisor we saw bugs and lots of them (pictures of those included too). The public bathroom in the holidome was moldy, smelly and filled with bugs as well. The 3 stalls were to accomodate the 150+ people swimming in the Holidome. All in all, a filthy facility with horrible accomodations and amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank C308XAmichellev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Address: 2747 S 11th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $108 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing