We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and reasonably priced”
Review of Kalamazoo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalamazoo Motel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location and reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here overnight last week as we drove to Canada. Good location, close to many chain restaurants and the freeway. Driveway/entrance is a bit tricky but not a big deal at all. The hotel and room were clean and well-maintained...and the corridors had a recently sprayed air freshner smell all the time! The beds were comfortable but a bit high and creaky as one moved around on the bed. Given the reasonable room rates, the breakfast was more than I expected with scrambled eggs(powdered, I believe), potatoes, make-your-own-waffle,cereals, yogurt, muffins, danish, coffee etc. Overall, great value and would definitely recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Nidz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Glad you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    63
    23
    22
    12
See reviews for
95
29
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very clean hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. It has been a long time since I have stayed at a hotel with staff as friendly and as helpful as this one. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Kalamazoo area

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Stacey, thank you for your response. It feels great to know that your positive experience was the first in a long time. We pay attention to making sure all guests are welcomed as well as the appearance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Maybe it was the disgusting bathroom that turned me off so much. Hard to see anything beyond that. Seems I was given a first floor accessible room, that's fine, but I feel sorry for any handicapped person who ended up there. The fold-down shower seat was wooden. Wooden! Like old wooden slats fastened together with rusty screws. Rusty! Ewwww.

Beyond that, it's hard to find the entrance to pull into the parking lot, the desk staff could be more professional and the whole place could use some bleach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Ms. “Somegirl,” it seems that you were not happy with your stay. This is the first time in the 6 months of take over that we have had a review like this. We have no idea what you mean by disgusting bathroom. Our rooms are clean thoroughly and disinfected daily. Bleach paired with Fabuloso is definitely our “best friend” here. Before arrival of each guest, rooms are careful inspected. We pay special attention to detail and the cleanliness/appearance of hotel. We have gone back in since your review to double check your comment of rusty screws. We see nothing, but clean fresh bathrooms. As for the wooden seats, I would assume that is a personal opinion. We would love for you to come in next time you are in town to show us what you mean, as this is clearly unheard of. We as a company, go above and beyond Franchise standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here several times when it was Hampton Inn....had to stay Sunday night as our power was out. This hotel has maintained the same high standards as Hampton at a better price! The manager was very nice and very accommodating regarding how long we would be there and even gave us a better price than quoted over the phone when we checked in and he saw we were seniors. Breakfast was fine. Woman in breakfast room has been there 18 yrs...very efficient and helpful. Woman at desk was super nice about us checking in for another night and then checking out again 30 min later when we found our power was on. Hotel is clean and comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
I am glad we made you feel comfortable until your power went back on. While, our direct competition is Hampton Inn, we do offer better value for money. Happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is a bit challenging to find (have to go through another businesses driveway) but WOW! The spotless rooms, high quality linens, the (tall) bed is very comfortable. You can really control the heat. The pool, hot tub, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank strandedmotorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We do our very best to maintain all guest rooms and happy to know that you picked up on this. Hope to see you again soon. Happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our suite was recently renovated and very clean.
Good location right off I-94.
Breakfast not so good, eggs were burnt and meat was dried up,but it was near the end of the breakfast hour.
Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad to know that you were happy with the room. It seems breakfast was not as pleasant and I will be looking into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was greeted promptly by a chipper Brittany who made the process painless which I appreciated after 12 hours of bad travel. You are my home away from home, Anericinn. You make Rewards Easy every time. Thanks for the smiles.

Satisfaction guaranteed!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWagnerToG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInnHotel, General Manager at Kalamazoo Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
I am so happy to know that Brittany took care of you. She is one of our best employees. She continually provides our guest with great customer service and is always full of smiles. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo Motel

Property: Kalamazoo Motel
Address: 1550 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538 (Formerly AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo)
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalamazoo Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kalamazoo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing