We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here because the 1st time was really good. As before, we were treated very well by the staff. The property is a little hard to find the 1st time as they share the same entrance way with another property. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked like it had been updated some since we were last there in 9/2012 as we had the same room (we requested it when making reservations) this time. The only downside of this room we had was the fact that we are shorter people and the bed is so high which makes for it being hard to get into it. Once in the bed we had a good nights sleep. Also the shower head is mean't for taller people to adjust.

When we woke up on Sunday morning there was a note left under our door that the pool had been closed for cleaning and maintenance effective 5/19/2013 unti 5/24/2013. We had come to find out later that something had happened the previous night that the pool had been contaminated because of someone swimming in it. It kind of sucked because our 2 great grandkids do enjoy going swimming when we visit. It went ov er better when our great granddaughter saw the water was gone.

Room Tip: We always stay on the backside of the property as the property faces the intersate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not sure if I want to write a review of this place and let the secret out! For what it is, I give it 4 stars. Is it the Ritz? No, but I can't remember many times where I've been this comfy in a regular old hotel. It has been newly renovated, and the rooms even smell new. I had an accessible room on the first floor, and the room was huge. Because it was accessible, it had a large tiled entry and large bathroom. The first floor rooms have higher ceilings which added to it feeling larger. Best of all: the hotel was QUIET! Now, this could vary depending on who is staying there at the time (i.e., sports teams) but I didn't hear a thing when I was here....I think the soundproofing is better than comparable hotels where you usually hear/feel every opening or closing of any door on the hall. Room was totally clean. Breakfast was big for this type of hotel and had something for everyone, I personally don't eat a lot of bread or carbs but they even had egg and meat options. The only thing that was lacking was a fridge in the room, and the pool looked a little tired/unappealing, so if that's important to you, take notice. I honestly didn't want to leave the room the next day, which is extremely unusual for me as I usually hate hotel rooms! Right off 94, perfect for traveling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLvr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently reserved and prepaid for this hotel through Priceline on the 2 1/2 Star level. We were very pleased with the hotel, amenities, and staff. We stayed for 3 nights and were always greeted pleasantly by the staff when we would return at the end of the day. The hot breakfast was ample and fresh. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The only inconvenience was the location and getting into the hotel from the Street was a little tricky but once you get the hang of it it isn't all that bad and definatly worth it for the price right off I-94 in Kalamazoo!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the back side away from I-94 if the traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRANPLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great price. Rooms were clean. Breakfast choices were wonderful. Susan at the front desk couldn't have been more friendly and willing to help. However, pool had a green tint around the edges. Other than the pool, our stay was everything we expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michigantravelerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel at a great price. Room, lobby, and breakfast area were fresh, updated, and clean. Room was quiet and the beds were comfortable.
The pool unfortunately did not follow suit with the rest of the hotel. It was in desperate need of a cleaning. The walls and floor appeared to be coated in algae, giving the water a green hue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, modern and quiet with a nice sized flat screen TV. Breakfast was much better and extensive than other breakfasts buffets that I have experienced and the food was very good. All and all a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanoBJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalamazooAI_GM, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us in Kalamazoo. It is so good to hear that the staff and amenities were satisfactory for you. I do hope you had the opportunity to try our pool and hot tub during your visit, and the use of the complimentary high speed internet. Thank you and hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest in the future!
Sincerely
T Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I chose this hotel based on prior reviews on Trip Advisor. It proved to be a good choice. While Kalamazoo is my hometown and I love to visit my recent trips have been due to the failing health of my sister. I normally stay at her house but she was at Bronson Hospital and I did not want to intrude on other family. Being my first hotel stay without the husband I was a bit apprehensive but upon my arrival the hotel staff put me at ease. The room was clean, bed super comfy and Sunday morning breakfast plentiful. My only concern was that my room was without a smoke detector, I mentioned it when checking out and was told they could not get it to stop beeping. While I appreciate that, surely another one could have been purchased and put in. This will not stop me from staying again as my overall experience was good. Just what I needed after a long, stressful day at the hospital.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalamazooAI_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello,
I would like to thank you for all of your feedback. You had several wonderful things to say about your visit with us, and I would like you to know your comments are very important! The staff will know what a wonderful job they did at making your stay with us pleasant. Planning a trip around extenuating circumstances are not always the easiest and our goal is always to take away never add to any stress factors that may be out there! As for the smoke detector - I must say - you did not receive the best answer there! You are correct a new one should have been installed or the room not sold until maintenance could correct the problem. Please be aware that there is a separate monitoring system in the hotel that will sense and alarm the property as well as a third party vendor of any dangerous situations. The response you were provided is being addressed with the staff and corrected immediately!
All in all it seems you enjoyed your stay - and I do hope that means we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 31 in Kalamazoo
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1550 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538 (Formerly Kalamazoo Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $78 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing