We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful... The room was very nice.. clean... and had everything we expected. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had when staying in a hotel. The location is close to the highway and to good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    63
    23
    22
    12
See reviews for
94
29
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great hotel, new room furniture, classy decor, great breakfast, comfy bed, quiet room, very clean, close to highway. Only bad thing was pool was closed for repairs. Fresh cookies were delicious! We were in town for a one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

really nice stay. the front desk worker, drew, was very helpful. we called him various times and he was very helpful and recommended an awesome place to eat at. he even shoveled a path in the parking lot for me and my girlfriend!

Room Tip: room 301 call between 11pm and 7am because drew is so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyler b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Mi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 days for a conferance in downtown. The staff was very friendly and the hotel clean. The staff had fresh baked cookies in the lobby for guests to eat for free. They serve a breakfast in the morning that seemed to be enjoyed by others as I was not able to try it. My room was more updated then some of the pictures show. Other all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, In
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed three days in this hotel. There were a few dining options nearby. We ate at a place called Brewster's right down the road. A very good choice with an extensive menu. I didn't see any shopping.
There was a free breakfast bar across from the reception desk which was ok. The pool and hot tub was also by the front desk as you go into the hallway. One issue has nothing to do with the hotel itself has too do with the very confusing street signs. As your coming into the street (Kilgore) to get to the hotel there is a sigh with a turn symbol with a cross above it but right above that there is a one way arrow. You turn at the one way arrow, go about two blocks then turn into the hotel entrance.
If your leaving the hotel and going back on the main road (portage) you can take a left but its illegal. You have to take a right then make a u turn. I saw a number of people getting confused leaving.
Staff was friendly. Had free wi-fi and plenty of electric plugs. This was a very basic hotel but got the job done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwhiskeypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalamazooAI_GM, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I appreciate the compliments given regarding our hotel. I understand the frustration with the access to our drive while navigating through our intersection. The, no left turns and right to go left are not convenient. While we do stay in a constant battle with MDOT to continue to add directional signs, we are very limited on our control over this. Please know we will not give up. I will review the breakfast menu and ensure that all items were up to standards. Our goal is to be outstanding in all areas, better than OK. Westnedge Ave is the main area for dinning and shopping, you will also find Cross Roads Mall; both are less than 2.5 miles from our hotel.
If you find yourself in the area again, we welcome you back!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked the room on booking.com and obtained a rate of $72 - an exceptional rate for a good quality room, breakfast, and all the amenities. Tim, the desk clerk, was most accommodating and steered us to Brewsters for dinner - a great choice. The room was spacious, VERY CLEAN with white bedding. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well-appointed. This hotel is a good choice for travelers who want easy access from Highway 69. All in all, a comfortable and enjoyable stop on our trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the side of the hotel opposite the highway. We received it - but it was direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glowrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was with out a room when came across the splendid property it was late at night and the night auditor Tim helped me find the hotel when i arrived i was starving and he helped me not only get a delivery of food but also was able to have a bottle of wine brought to me it was a fine local pizza place called erbellis he was the best and the hotel felt warming and the rooms were more than i would have asked for...there is a free hot breakfast witch was perfect for that morning. my stay was amasing and i would like to let you know that Tim, Drew, and Tresa will take care of you if your ever in need!! they were the BEST!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the Highway if noise bothers you, i like it - it makes me feel like im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 1550 E Kilgore Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-5538
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing