We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not so bad, but not so good...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so bad, but not so good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I was a little unsure about my decision to stay here after reading the reviews here, but it was too late to change plans. Our small company was in town for a week for work and reserved several rooms. Since there were so many of us, we needed a budget hotel, that's why I selected Econo Lodge.

I'll start with the positives-every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful, this goes a long way with me. The reception area was attractive and clean. The continental breakfast was convenient, basic-instant oatmeal, cold cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. There is a breakfast/lunch restaurant next door, but we were off to work too early to drop in. The pool was large and nice, though I didn't use it because there were too many screaming kids in there for me. The rooms were clean, fresh towels and sheets daily. With the heat wave we've been experiencing lately, I was so appreciative for the crazy-cold air conditioning unit. The beds were clean and comfortable. The interior and exterior of the hotel could use a little tlc, painting, deep cleaning, repairs, but overall the rooms seemed clean. I rated the 'cleanliness' as a '3' because the hallway was so repulsive.

The negatives-I feel a little bad about these negatives since the hotel staff isn't directly responsible for them, but they do need to address these issues. The hallway always smelled terribly. One day it would have an overwhelming odor I can't even describe, the next it would reek of urine, the next it would smell like an ash tray. When I'd mention this to the clerk, he'd run up there and spray air freshener, which would mask the odor for the time being. I reported someone for smoking in the hallway because I didn't want one of our rooms to be blamed and charged, one of my employees spotted someone smoking a joint in the hallway the same night. The hotel draws a unique mixture of visitors, many people like us, businesses in town for work, families, and some serious 'riff-raff' (at least while I was there). Partying people walking the hallways, congregating, talking outside my door at 3am, slamming doors in the middle of the night-does not make for a good nights sleep after working a 12 hour day. I think if they did a thorough deep cleaning of the hallways and walked the hallways from time to time to catch these people smoking in the hallways the nasty odor problem could be remedied. As far as the hallway-partiers, I don't know what they can do if they don't have ample staff and a desire to address the issue.

If I stay in Kalamazoo again, I'll skip the Econo Lodge as there are several options in the area.

Room Tip: Apparantly some of the rooms have a hair dryer and a mini-fridge, mine did not. I had a safe in my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    18
    13
    24
See reviews for
28
15
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wabash, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rooms quiet and clean,nice place to stay for the money,rooms have NO alarm clocks,breakfast was simple (oatmeal,coffee,milk,cereal,toast,muffins and juice) Friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddygrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a budget motel so that is what you get. I have stayed at other Econolodges that were much better. The room was ok but nothing special and could really use a good cleaning. Was fine for an overnight but I won't go back. I watched as one person got out of a car, went to enter an outside door of the motel and continued to pull and tug on it till it opened for him. (this person did not have a card to swipe) That did not make me feel very safe. Also, people hanging about at the front desk and outside the doors. Some of the interior doors even had extra deadbolts on them. It looks like they are trying to fix this place up though. There were some rooms wide open and others with a sheet hanging in the doorway so that's what leads me to believe they are working on it. I did not however see any maintenance type employees working there.

Room Tip: make sure to use your extra security door lock and get a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardens100883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My brother and I recently spent a few days at the hotel. I was very impressed - my last hotel I stayed at was not a good experience and when my brother told me of the cost of the room I was a bit skeptical. But the room was very nice and clean, a front desk staff that was very helpful and kind, a check-in process that was very quick. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We became a little nervous about staying here after making last minute reservations and then reading the reviews. The room was clean, the lobby beautiful. The desk attendant was very sweet. The outside is a little run down granted but you could tell the carpet in the halls had been freshly shampooed. For a cheap room it held out.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n2froggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

First appearence was not the best but The lobby is Beautiful!!! The rooms were large, comfy and clean. Seems like newly renovated rooms. I think this is the best room for the price. I was looking for an interior hotel to stay in, near the Western Mich Univ, but everything else was very expensive. Dont expect much for breakfast but thats econolodge. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Easy access to interstate and shopping. Not bad drive to Western Mich Univ.
Definately stay there again....

Room Tip: Stay upstairs so no one is above you!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chew302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I tend to choose this hotel for the price only. It is convienient to my client worksite. The breakfast is enough to get you thru the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back facing West appear to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliottRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#23 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3750 Easy St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-1888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing