We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh.... food was just "okay"”

Olde Peninsula Brewpub
Ranked #41 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Kalamazoo 1st Brewpub! Opened on St. Patrick's Day 1996 as Kalamazoo's 1st brewery and restaurant combined into one great place.
Leitchfield, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eh.... food was just "okay"”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I went there as a belated Valentines Day dinner. We both ordered the Garlic sirloin steak. He got his rare, I got mine medium-well. There was ZERO difference in the cooking of the steaks when we got them. I about sent it back, but just decided to eat around the ends and take the rest home to COOK FURTHER. The steak was seasoned well and tasted good, other than being nearly raw.

My husband got the "garlic and cheddar" mashed potatoes. I would not recommend. There is no tasting the cheese and it was ridiculously strong with garlic and we are huge garlic fans. If I made garlic potatoes that strong at home, not one would eat them.

My other complaint would be that we weren't given steak knives. So we had a pretty difficult time cutting in to steaks with dull butter knives. That was the waiter's fault and honestly....he was not very attentive.

When my husband brought up that my steak wasn't very done, he didn't offer to take it back and have them cook it further.... it was kind of an "oh well" attitude. We never were asked for drink refills either. Which it's a brewery... I get it. They are more in to the beer drinkers-- but a little more service would have been nice.

I don't see us rushing back there any time soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    76
    32
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“undercooked bland food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've had good food here in the past, and the beers are good. We recommend the sampler of five small glasses of different brews. However, in August 2013 we took friends for dinner. The service was slow. The veggies were in huge chunks and nearly raw. Breaded fish was greasy and was served barely warm. Seasonings were absent. I hope this was an isolated bad day for the cooks and servers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fun downtown restaurant. Great home brewed beer and root beer. You can see the vats where the beer is brewed. Good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This brewpub is a must for microbrew aficionados. Great beer and excellent food. My favorite of the 3 pubs I visited in Kalamazoo on my trip. It was busy with a restaurant atmosphere, but I will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visit several times a year to meet friends but this time we were very disappointed. We had to ask for water several times from different servers before we ever got it. We ordered drinks and were never asked if we wanted another before we were presented our check. While everyone else's food was good I ordered the NY Strip Steak for the first and LAST time. I ordered it medium and it arrived rare. Our server did not check back but someone else I believe the manager stopped to check and I sent it back to be cooked more. It came back medium rare but at least it was hot this time. It was served with cheddar mashed which I don't believe had any cheese or cheese flavor it them. I had to ask for some butter for them. Either the steak knife was extremey dull (and had a rounded end instead of a pointed one) or the steak was tough. It was not seasoned at all. It was also at least 50% fat and gristle. When I told the server of my disappointment, it was like too bad so sad. If you go here do NOT order the steak.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Peninsula Brewpub also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Olde Peninsula Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing