We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had reserved a "concierge" level room but were put in a regular, but large, room. When we realized the mistake, the hotel was willing to move us to a smaller room on the concierge level, but neglected to tell us what services were offered. We missed happy hour one night, breakfast the next morning, and the one breakfast we had was meager and inedible--they'd run out of coffee(!) and yogurt. The swimming pool smelled like a Clorox bottle. Although most of the guest were attending the same conference, there was virtually no information available about how to get there.

Room Tip: Both rooms we tried were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello,

Please accept our more sincere apologies that your visit with us did not meet or exceed your expectations. In regards to both the Concierge services and the conference schedule; there is no excuse for not giving you all the information available. Maps and shuttle schedules were created and intended to be made available to each guest. I apologize and will address our shortcomings with the team.

While we can't rewind time and give you back the time you have spent dealing with our shortcomings, we are anxious to find a resolution that satisfies you moving forward. Please contact the hotel directly at (269)343-3333 and ask for Michelle. I look forward to speaking with you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We value all feedback and know that it is necessary to achieve our service goals.

Sincerely,
Michelle and the Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    360
    109
    69
    49
See reviews for
329
305
58
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not a lot of options in the area, but this is the nicest of the choices. The price is slightly high I find, but there really isn't another option for a quality hotel stay in this part of town. It is a very nice hotel, well maintained, upscale, great restaurants and we love staying here for a quick getaway on occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpuck1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalinda W, Concierge at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Happy New Year!!

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review.
We apologize for our delay in response, as we really do appreciate feedback from our guests. It is so nice to hear how impressed you were with our hotel and your overall stay. We now have a Concierge Team. Next time you stay with us, be sure to take full advantage of the resources that our Concierge can provide as well as their ability to personalize your experience for your next special getaway!

We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here with much delight for a Convention over the weekend. This hotel has everything from shopping, dinning, strolling, hanging out, coffee cafes, Fitness center and a very helpful staff. We had an in-room Jacuzzi, Refrig, coffee pot, blow dryer, nice area for administering my fresh face in morning, separate from the toilet & shower. The room was nice and large as was the bed (king). Very, very clean and fresh!! Thumbs & fingers up to this place. It is centrally located so walking in most directions will provide you w/ entertainment of your choice. The Kalamazoo mall is 1 block away, certainly doesn't get any better folks. Make this your next Kalamazoo destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justjo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalinda W, Concierge at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Wow!! Thank you for such a fantastic review. We are happy to be your number one choice here in the Kalamazoo area. I agree that our location and outlets within the hotel really make our hotel convenient and accomodating for our guests. There are lots more events and exciting things happening in downtown Kalamazoo during the next few months. Give us a call 269-343-3333, we would love to help personalize your next visit. Our Concierge Team is fantastic!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are staying in Kalamazoo, this hotel is an excellent choice and value. The location is right downtown. This hotel is located inside a mall. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The rooms are small apartments complete with a small kitchen. I didn't need anything that big so I was a bit surprised at the large size of the room. I've lived in apartments that were smaller than just one of the rooms and I had 2 - a bedroom and living room/kitchen. This was also the very quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. Nice. My only complaint is that the signage isn't the best from the parking garage to the hotel. It took us a bit to find the check in desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate feedback and ideas on how we can improve our guests' experiences. If you care to, please contact the hotel directly at (269)343-3333 and we will be happy to get more information about the lack of signage (ex. getting to the skywalk? from the skywalk to the Front Desk?). Because we do it everyday, we don't have the best perspective on just how confusing it could be for first timers! We find it important to make it simple though and will make adjustments when we find opportunities.

We also appreciate that you recommended us as the place to be in Kalamazoo! Those compliments mean a lot to our team.

Gratefully,
The Team at Radisson Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love this hotel. Everything about it makes me feel at home. Staff are always wonderful and helpful. The lounge is fun just to hang out with other frequent travelers. My second family. Only problem with the lounge they took away breakfast and dinner. Breakfast now is what my kid would eat (cereal bars, pop tarts, there is some fruit though). Snack in the evenings dips and cheese/meat trays. I really likes the small meals. Even though I ate that I would still eat at other places so I didn't seem greedy. Bring back breakfast and small dinners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Louise,

There are few compliments greater than making our guests feel at home and we are so grateful for you sharing that. Your feedback on the food in the lounge is welcomed and will definitely be noted. We are trying to find the right combination to exceed our guest's needs without being wasteful of food. Admittedly, it is a learning curve, one that we will continue to work to do better on and hearing from our guests is a huge part of the eventual success.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what we can do better. We maintain a consistent focus on caring for each guest in a way that they feel welcome and comfortable EVERY time they see us, and are always happy that it is being delivered.

Take care and we will see you soon!
The Kalamazoo Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for my 21st birthday so I could experience the bars located in the hotel and not have to worry about driving. The pool is amazing, the hot tub is wonderful, zazzios inside is great, the room is beautiful, the view is lovely!!! I can't say enough how great this place was!!! It's a little pricey but it's worth it for a romantic experience. We will be staying here the night of our wedding as well!! Molly at the front desk was so friendly and sweet and made my birthday feel important. I love this hotel and can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Sarah,

Happy birthday and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! I am happy to hear that you had a great night and enjoyed your stay enough to trust us with a night as special as your wedding.

Best of luck in the coming months of decision making- here's to calm and uneventful wedding planning! See you soon.

Thank you,
Michelle and The Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel in downtown Kalamazoo. The public areas are awesome. The restaurant Old Burdick's was great. The rooms were very modern and clean. The staff was supportive, but we had an issue with our keys but they handled it smoothly. Radisson should be very proud of this property!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Front Office at Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,

Wow, thank you for the awesome compliments! We are so happy that you enjoyed our renovations and even more, got to experience the service that we work hard to provide to each guest. We are preparing for a complete key system upgrade before August. The new system uses RFID technology instead of the antiquated magnetic technology. The RFID system is much more stable and will all but eradicate key issues.

Again, thank you for the kind words and for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to your return.

All the best,
The entire Kalamazoo Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
6.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center

Property: Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Address: 100 West Michigan Avenue, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Plaza Hotel & Suites of Kalamazoo-winner of the Radisson Hotel of the Year award for 2013! Our highest priority is the comfort of our guests. We deliver the highest quality in lodging, dining, shopping, fitness and spa. We want create an amazing experience and be your "10"! Please let us know how we can best host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Hotel At Kalamazoo Kalamazoo
Radisson Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Radisson
Radisson Plaza Hotel Kalamazoo Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing