We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were driving to Chicago, and this one night stay was fine. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast the next morning was fine. The rating for this hotel was 2 1/2 stars, and that's exactly what it was. The pool was murky, and but the bedding and washrooms were clean. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurrayforvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac-BestWestern, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    20
    24
    21
See reviews for
35
21
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had to go back to Michigan a couple of weeks ago and stayed at the Best Western again. Once again the staff was EXCELLENT - especially Caitlyn and Taylor at the front desk and Becky who sets-up the breakfast each morning. The cleaning staff was also very friendly every day and went above and beyond (delivering us a small refrigerator to store our toddler's milk.) The pool was clean and refreshing at the end of our long days. Also, the beds were VERY comfortable. I think maybe they have new mattresses. Not at 5 star in looks, (a tad dated looking) but a nice place to stay, for sure!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, but they will try to accomodate you if there is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denvergal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Unfortunately, my experiences with hotels in the past several weeks have been horrible, due to theft involving staff. The Best Western takes the cake in being the most audacious, unprofessional establishment I've seen in quite some time.
After a lengthy check in, I proceeded to my room,opened the door and the heavy stench of smoke and cologne overwhelmed me. I was already late for a meeting across town, so I decided to take a shower and deal with the smell promising myself to never stay there again. Huge mistake on my part. As I rush out of the bathroom with a towel around me, I notice it's very drafty in the room. I look over the bed and finally see there was a very large window, open to the parking lot and the busy street completely ajar! It didn't have a screen and it was certainly big enough for an adult to climb through. Creeped out at this point, I get dressed, and use the sink to brush my teeth. I wasn't surprised to find the sink was clogged. I decide to head to the front desk to change my room. I won't go through the details of how long it took to get another room or how dismissive and unempathetic the front desk was about wasting my time.

A half hour later, I receive a key to my new room. AGAIN, the room stinks. A musty sort of funk I can't quite put my finger on. Good grief! I walk out of the hotel, fuming, check into another hotel, now an hour late and realizing I stupidly left my sunglasses at the Best Western. The desk attendant takes down my info, and says she'll ring me when she finds out what happened to my glasses. I specified precisely where and when I left them, however I didn't receive a call back. After three separate calls to this hotel, each of them not receiving a call back, I concluded that I would probably never see my glasses again. I made the final FOURTH attempt to call the hotel firmly letting them know that I'm aware my glasses were stolen. The hotel manager dismissively told me that she didn't find any glasses and ended the conversation claiming that since I was in two different rooms, I didn't know where I left them.
So now, I'm out over a hundred dollars for a lousy hotel room, a 350 dollar pair of Gucci glasses, and my sanity.
My advice is to proceed with caution if you need to stay in this hotel. Lock up your valuables, insist on a clean, safe room and don't expect service of any kind. The staff is unfortunate and disheveled looking at best. I don't understand why a major hotel chain would hire people who are so incompetent and slovenly. Clearly they're not paying the staff enough if they have to steal from their patrons. Be aware!

Room Tip: You might have a better chance of getting a clean room if you sleep in the maid's closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prettipetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michgan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

OK. SO i spent a few nights here and swam ate the breakfast btw this was for my brothers bowlling tourmunt in poratge michigan. the bad things about this hotel are the rooom walls had black marks all over them and then the pool had this white crap in it(it looked like it was comming from the filter).speaking of the filter it was comming of and me (14) would not go in the deep end because i did not want to get my hair caught in it..........then my dad and i wanted water because we ran out of it and on the first floor all there was, was vitem water witch we hate then I (by my self) went up to the 2nd floor and all there was,was diet coke. next the third floor me and my dad still did not get water that did not even work it took our money and the front desk would not give us it back. the beds were not coftreable at all and on the website it said we could get a fridge but no they said "NO".......... P.S- I was on the first floor room 109

Room Tip: The guets room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February.. I didn't write a review because I was so angry about the service and cleaness.

They don't clean your room, including the bathtub, you can leave the food trash everyday and if you don't put it in the trash basket, they won't do it (I purposely acumulated it for several days).

The pool and gym were not available for several days.

At the corridor, in front of the elevator entrance, someone poured something like vanilla milkshake and remained dirty until the next day.

And don't expect so much about the buffet, if you are lucky, may be you'll find scramble eggs instead of cold "boiled eggs". The person responsible for the buffet is the receptionist, so imagine how this person prepares the food, clean tables?, while he/she attends the front desk.

We complained directly with the general manager since the first day, but nothing change the next 9 days...

If you travel that area, there are several hotels next to this hotel and there are also restaurants, so be careful, ok ?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I find the staff at the front office very friendly and helpful for the direction of the local attractions. Free buffet breakfast is always nice. Very good rate for my business and pleasure stay there. This is one of the large Best Western that I stay for my trips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm4tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here one night on the way to Toronto. We arrived around 2 am to a shouting match in the parking lot between two obviously drunk people. Despite the large size of this hotel, we ended up with our rooms right next to these people. The walls seemed paper thin as we could hear their conversations until around 4 a.m. when they likely passed out. Also, although the hotel is currently non-smoking, I think we were in a room that had been smoking during its previous life. The carpet still smelled of smoke, and the room had an overall musty smell. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieEm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#19 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 3640 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645 (Formerly Best Hospitality Inn Kalamazoo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Kalamazoo
Best Western Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing