We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”

Comensoli's Italian Bistro & Bar
Ranked #39 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American, European, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So So”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The sauce was very good. However, the chicken dish I ordered left a little to be desired, You could tell it was from a bag of frozen chicken (the kind you buy at Meijers or Walmart). The chicken pieces weren't "clean", meaning it had the fatty bits on them. I ended up not being able to eat my meal because of that reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Gluten-free options”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Comensoli's has been a favorite of mine for years (even when it was Pasta Pasta!). I trust them with my meal preparation for being gluten-free with no cross contamination issues. That is a hard to come by comfort zone. I love the quaint, smaller venue atmosphere and the wonderful staff. Thanks so much for another perfect night out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went on a busy Saturday night, with a reservation. The bar area is a little small, so not much room to sit while you wait. The hostess seated us promptly and the waitress was very helpful and attentive. The salmon picatta and chicken cacciatore were very good, although the sauces were a little heavy for our tastes. Wines by the glass were good and reasonably priced. As mentioned in other reviews, it's a little hard to find the parking lot entrance, but the location is central and near Kalamazoo College and downtown. I'll be sure to go again on my next trip to Kalamazoo.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and perfect atmosphere”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I found this place using the tripadvisor search. I was on a business trip in Kalamazoo and wanted to treat colleagues to a nice Italian meal. I had never been to Comensoli's before, so I took a chance based upon the reviews and Comensoli's web site. It was wonderful. It's small, about 12 - 15 tables for four, not counting the patio area, but it's very cold in February. They pulled a couple together for our group of six.

The wine selection is good, not extensive, but good variety. The food was fantastic. Prices were very reasonable. I expected slightly higher prices for the quality of the food.

We arrived just before 6:00 on a Monday night, and there was only one other couple present. That made me a little nervous, but by 6:15, nearly half the tables were full. By 6:30, tables were full and a couple sat at the small bar.

Not much divides the dining room from the kitchen, so the place filled with a wonderful aroma. It has personality, and the pictures on it's website do show what the decor is like.

Meals were between $12 - $16. Wine $5 - $8 per glass. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDBjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantine, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pizza special”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a couple of the pizza and salad specials...enjoy them! Owner was there and checked on our. Satisfaction, really seemed to care.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comensoli's Italian Bistro & Bar also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Comensoli's Italian Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing