We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We walked into the room it smelled like mold. Stains on the carpet and bed skirt. Thick layer of dust under the crooked tv. The heat would not work but the electrician was able to fix. We got service one day out of the three days we stayed and they did not replenish any of the items. In fact they took the towels that we had hanging for reuse but did not replace them. When we went downstairs to get our own towels we saw another person getting her own towels so it appeared to be standard practice. We saw one room put their overflowing trash can in the hall - they must have not gotten service either. Out of date slow computers in the Business Center. Just to top it off on the last day one of the two treadmills had died. One positive is the breakfast was fully stocked at different hours each day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CinLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo.
We appreciate you taking your time to give us your feedback on our hotel. We apologize that the hotel was not up to your standards; nor ours either. We pride ourselves in having a clean hotel with great service for all of our guests. We apologize that you did not experience this. We will certainly take all of your feedback and make the necessary changes that we need to make. Please contact the hotel directly, if you would like share more of your experience with us. We are constantly striving to be the best that we can be and we appreciate your feedback for us. Thank you again for staying with us. We would love to talk further with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 224 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at similar suite style hotels in the past, and have always thought they are a great idea, especially when traveling with children. Having a kitchen is great if you and the kids don't feel like eating out again, and a separate bedroom is also great for the little ones to go to bed early. However, when having stayed at similar properties, I always have had the feeling of staying in someone elses apartment; not at his place though.

The property is immaculately clean, spacious and modern. My room was spacious, and well layed out; a zillion tv channels, many HD on one of two nice flat screen tv's; fast wireless, comfortable beds, etc., etc. Location is good and convienent to restaurants (a couple in short walking distance), ample parking, etc. Also, the hotel was very quiet at night making for a good night's sleep.

This hotel, from the moment of walking in, just had a really nice and homey feel to it. I will be back if in Kalamazoo again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo! We love the feel of our rooms and the spaciousness that they provide. We take great pride in our hotel and want each of our guests to feel like they are at home and not at someone else's place. We have recently upgraded our television selection and are thrilled that these new channels were just what you were looking for. We look forward to your next visit to Kalamazoo and will we look for you here at the Staybridge Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This traveler's wife and this traveler were presenting a two-day seminar at the Western Michigan University campus and decided to stay at the Staybridge instead of the Radisson Downtown (also a venue reviewed by this traveler.)
This place came through on all 3!
Then, add the (very, very good) complimentary breakfast and the (sorry, didn't indulge) complimentary "meal" in the evenings, add additionally the microwave, refrigerator, freezer (with ice maker) and dishwasher as well as pretty comfy towels and comfortable bedding, and this place earns (in the opinion of this traveler) adding a 5th TripAdvisor medallion to the 4 on the plaque on the wall behind the front desk.
Fellow travelers, the staff here made this trip complete. We could have asked for the staff to wash the rental car, and they might have done so!
We are sorry that traveler LauraNoushin had such a bad experience- it is 180 degrees from that of this traveler and this traveler's wife. Our vist was also in October (but bugs? Kalamazoo had their first snow during this visit.)
The room (prepaid, saved even more money) assigned to this traveler and his wife was on the 2nd floor #217.
This traveler's wife and this traveler will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the Staybridge Suites. We pride ourselves on having a great hotel with excellent staff that will treat you like you are family. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, but the next time you are here you will have to come down for the reception. It's simply wonderful! We can't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times with grandkids. Very comfortable and convenient location. The pool was a big hit. Breakfast was above average. Can be expensive in the summer, but most hotels anywhere near Lake Michigan are pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHSTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie B, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo! We love our pool too! We take great pride in our hotel and want each of our guests to feel like they are at home and not at someone else's place. We also love to talk up our Breakfast Buffet because it offers so many options to choose from. We look forward to your next visit to Kalamazoo and will we look for you here at the Staybridge Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the staybridge in Kalamazoo. After two nights, I noticed that my room smelled very mouldy - after checking I realised that the carpet under the aircon machine was wet. I spoke to the person at the front desk who moved me to another room. Upon entering room number two both me and the receptionist immediately noticed a strong, very sweet smell, almost like strawberries. It also smelled quite acidic. I believe the first two rooms were 112 and 119. I was then moved up to the handicapped room, 329. In this room I stayed for three further nights. After two night, in noticed a number big bites on my face and my hands, which were not like mosquito bites. I kept receiving more bites, they tend to come up about 24 h later. They are definitely no mosquito bites (it's October. Also, the window had mosquito nets installed).

All in all, terrible experience, would not recommend!

(I would like to point out though, that the staff was very friendly)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraNoushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo, MI. We want to take this time to apologize to you for your stay. Thank you for providing us with honest feedback so that we can take the time to make things right. We would like you to know that we are taking your comments very seriously within our management company and here at the hotel. We are working with a professional pest control company to look into this situation and to correct anything that we may find. We are also taking the steps needed to ensure that our hotel is in excellent condition for the future. Again, thank you for providing us with feedback as we are always striving for excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

While this is by no means a luxury resort, it is absolutely perfect for it's class. There is always hot coffee available. They serve hot meals 3 nights a week. The staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms are tidy, clean and well appointed. An ideal spot for a short or extended stay. Conveniently located to several venues and downtown. There is a "strip" mall a short walk away, otherwise a quick drive almost anywhere. I have stayed several times while visiting my college daughter. Most recently we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. A treat! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cackieboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites in Kalamzoo, MI. We love the fact that you had a 'perfect' stay while you were here. We love to be your home away from home and are glad that you have chosen to stay with us.
We are looking forward to the next time you are in Kalamazoo and stay here at the Staybridge Suites. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

To date I have only used Candlewood Suites in the IHG brands.
We loved having a pool with hot tub.
Another plus is hot breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in a king suite.
Design of the room is very versatile. Table with chairs in kitchen.
Living room with fold out couch and chair with flat screen tv.
A very roomy king bedroom with vanity outside of bathroom and a flat screen tv.
Plenty of electrical outlets throughout room.
Great WiFi!
Staff is wonderful!
Kendall, Brittany, Christine and John at the front desk are professional and warm. They understand your needs.
Staying here on Labor Day weekend the breakfast staff was over worked but managed to keep up! Kudos to the breakfast staff.
The only thing we saw that needed attention was the landscaping in the courtyard. Trees and bushes were overgrown and in need of trimming and weeding . I hope management reads this and gets the land scraping done. It will have a huge impact on feeling of the hotel.
I will stay here on a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaybridgeSuitesKzoo, Manager at Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Staybridge Suites in Kalamazoo, MI. We are thrilled that your very first stay at a Staybridge Suites was here in Kalamazoo. We, too, love the feel of the hotel; from the spacious livingroom in our suites, to the indoor pool and hot tub, to the full hot buffet breakfast each morning! We love our stay too and will be certain to pass your positive comments along to them. We look forward to seeing you at the Staybridge Suites the next time you visit Kalamazoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
5.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
3.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 2001 Seneca Ln, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#8 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $117 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites hotel in Kalamazoo, Michigan is the perfect place to work or relax while in Kalamazoo. Whether you are here because of sales, training, relocation or leisure, our extended stay hotel will satisfy all your needs. Our 95 room all suite hotel consists of 3 distinct room types: choose from our studio suite, 1 bedroom suite, or our fabulous two bedroom, two bath suite. All suites feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, a full pullout sofa, as well as a full kitchen. Each room includes a hot breakfast buffet , 24-hour business center, workout facility, and Bridgemart convenience store, free WiFi, complimentary guest laundry, indoor pool and hot tub, as well as an outdoor courtyard with gas grills and patio tables for grilling out and socializing. We also host an evening Sundowner Reception 3 nights a week where we serve a light dinner. If you are looking for a change of pace, pick up your phone and dial direct to Gallagher's by pushing your pre-programmed button and let them deliver dinner to your room. We are conveniently located close to I-94 and US 131 for easy access on or off the highway. Kalamazoo is a great city half way between Detroit and Chicago. We are home to many large corporations such as Pfizer, Dana Corp, Eaton, and Stryker. We are less than 3 miles from Western Michigan University and Kalamazoo College. Priority Club member? Bring your points we'll give you more. Enjoy all the Comforts of Home when you choose Staybridge Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing