We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How long do we wait for our order to be taken?”
Review of Theo & Stacy's

Theo & Stacy's
Ranked #46 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York in Route to Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How long do we wait for our order to be taken?”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We seated ourself immediately and were brought over drinks and were told our waitress will be over shortly. Shortly turned into fifteen minutes and we gave up, packed our baby up and hit the road. The whole time we were waiting all we kept seeing is waitresses running around... Literally running! And couldn't even count how many times we heard them apologizing to the other tables. The table behind us were forgotten about twice and once their bread was forgotten in the microwave. Yes microwave! Talk about a mess of a restaraunt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank superballs017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasteless Chicken Gyro”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I ordered the Chicken Gyro with fries. I was expecting some grilled chicken breast, but I received processed chicken formed to look like traditional gyro meat. It was dry and tasteless. The pita that it was on was warm and tender. It had an adequate amount of tomato, but no onions. It came with...honey mustard? The waitress asked I'd I would prefer tzatziki. Indeed! The tzatziki was very good. I have no idea why they would serve honey mustard with a chicken gyro...??? The fries were excellent. The service was above average. The waitress brought me a refill on my pop without me having to ask.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise_D07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Gyro in Town”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Their gyros are the best around -- get the platter with fries (nice thick ones) and the Greek salad for a nice meal. Breakfasts are also good, not unusual, but consistently good. Other items tend to be less consistent; some are good, others less so. Lots of canned veggies, for example. Stick to the gyro and you can't go wrong!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KEW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turgtusteynam
Level Contributor
140 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This place is a local staple.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place is not fancy...but it's good. Gyro's, burgers, breakfast...these are the things I think of here. It's good Greek comfort food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had lunch here 1:15pm on a Sunday. The place was 1/4 full, with a couple of large groups. First, the hostess/cashier (lady in her 50s with big hair) was in a bad mood. She took us to our table, threw the menus down, and walked away. Second, we waited nearly 10 minutes before a waitress came to our table. We never saw the waitress again until 30 minutes later when our food arrived. We all had sandwiches which shouldn't have taken that long to make. A group of three Army Reservists next to us had the same waitress who seemed to forget about them also (they had to go to cashier to get their bill). Our pitcher of water was dirty on the INSIDE, so we flagged down a busboy who got us a clean one. The waitress did apologize for the slow service, blaming the large group she had to serve. There were other waitresses assisting her with the group, so what happens when the place is REALLY busy? Lastly, the hostess/cashier snatched our bill out of our hand when we went to pay. Why? Leave your poor attitude at home next time. Bad choice to take the inlaws, should have gone next door or across the street.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pentwater07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo & Stacy's also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Theo & Stacy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing