We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eh..”

LaRue's Family Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Restaurant details
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“eh..”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's close and cheap. it's hit or miss with the service. the food is just ok. there is always a wait and it's standing room only. I never have cash so I always have to hit up the atm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NR49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Diner food done well.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Breakfasts, soup, and sandwiches are all good here. Reliable fare. Excellent prices. My college-student daughter loves the chicken wraps. Hubby and I usually go for breakfast or soup and sandwich.

As of my last visit in May, Larue's still only accepts cash. They do have an ATM in the lobby, but of course you have to pay a fee. Not my favorite arrangement.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indyslf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Breakfasts in town”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Try the breakfast burrito. Egg whites are available and they have pretty good eggs benedict. Old fashioned -all cash no credit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete_AAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot spot for Breakfast in Kalamazoo”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

they have the best breakfast in town. Reasonable prices and a good quantity of food. Service is always friendly and fast.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnD42354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

LaRue's was a good family restaurant. We had a group of 8 women and most of us split entrees since we were having an early dinner. The food was very good and the portions very appropriate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srrmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaRue's Family Restaurant also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to LaRue's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing