We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep. Do it.”
Review of Food Dance Cafe

Food Dance Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Food Dance Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 340 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pitcher St.
Description: For 20 years, Food Dance has been committed to building a thriving and sustainable local food system. We support artisans who practice craft food processes that have been around for generations-growing, raising, preserving, curing, aging, pickling, butchering and more. For Food Dance, it's about the connection with the people and places their food comes from-authentic people and authentic food that's true to its source. Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner-guests are served the freshest menu items in a casual and welcoming atmosphere. We offer private dining space for celebrations or larger groups as well as catering and delivery. We host cooking classes and special dinners throughout the year - aimed to introduce guests to new elements of the culinary and agricultural worlds. Our on-site market offers amazing ingredients sourced from their family of purveyors-from sustainable, humanely raised meats, sausages and artisan cheeses to fresh baked bread, pastries and savory baked goods.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yep. Do it.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My out of town visitors and I went to dinner a little early…6pm. It felt like the Early Bird Hour, as most of the tables around us were filled with older patrons. We were seated in the lower level, which is big and open and somehow seems more suited to breakfast or lunch. We had reservations, so as soon we were seated as we got there, and didn't get a chance to take advantage of the free wine tasting going on in the lobby/store area.
Everyone enjoyed the food and drinks. The service was the usual "very good."
I prefer sitting and eating at the bar unless I'm with a big group.
Some of the items seem a little pricey (the Zingerman's halo), but I guess you're paying for the quality and pedigree of well-prepared food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    165
    44
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great food. Great service. They are always busy but worth the wait. Water street coffee is served so it's good as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NR49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham mi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great surprise in Kalamazoo”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Needed a place to eat while snow as visiting k. This was suggested and was very good. Could have fit in in any upscale city. Nice modern comfortable decor, menu was varied, clearly trying to appeal to food people. Everything was clearly fresh, good sized portions, friendly service. Looked to be a foodie place which is nice in this kind if city. Prices were by reasonable. I had Cobb salad with beef, crab cakes and desert and non alcohol drink and it was 40 dollars.

Worth a trip

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place - good food, friendly people, tasty drinks”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Enjoyed this restaurant which was part of a birthday weekend getaway to Kalamazoo, Michigan. When you enter you go into a cute little market. I purchased a birthday cake for my husband which was to be traveling back to Chicago with us the next day. The market was closing in about 15 minutes and I was concerned about being able to buy it since we were just going to be sitting down for dinner. The employee in the market was so helpful, she said she'd box it up and make sure our server had it for when we closed out our meal.

Food Dance offers a artisan meat and cheese plate as an appetizer. You get to select your own options from their list. We enjoyed Cheddar, Gouda, Prosciutto and a house coppa which was recommended by our server. We also ordered drink and the garnet martini was wonderful! Our appetizer filled us up so much we never got to ordering dinner, but the salads sounded amazing which is what we both would have ordered. I hope I get to go back sometime and try the salad.

As promised our cake came to our table boxed up with our check. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GorillaPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, but somewhat disappointing.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

First time. Bigger than we thought. Pleasant atmosphere. Excellent waitperson, Rob. Martinis very good, reasonably priced. Great homebaked bread. Main course was disappointing. Yes it's all local or regional. . . nice. But, menu is somewhat limited and attempts to be exotic. However, wife had ultimate mac & cheese and said flavor was dull - need more seasoning. I had the porkchop. Looked good on the plate, however, it was more fat than meat. Will we try it again? Probably, but will try lunch next time. May give dinner one more chance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Dance Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Food Dance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing