We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Atmosphere, Great Food, Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Food Dance Cafe

Food Dance Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Food Dance Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 336 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pitcher St.
Description: For 20 years, Food Dance has been committed to building a thriving and sustainable local food system. We support artisans who practice craft food processes that have been around for generations-growing, raising, preserving, curing, aging, pickling, butchering and more. For Food Dance, it's about the connection with the people and places their food comes from-authentic people and authentic food that's true to its source. Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner-guests are served the freshest menu items in a casual and welcoming atmosphere. We offer private dining space for celebrations or larger groups as well as catering and delivery. We host cooking classes and special dinners throughout the year - aimed to introduce guests to new elements of the culinary and agricultural worlds. Our on-site market offers amazing ingredients sourced from their family of purveyors-from sustainable, humanely raised meats, sausages and artisan cheeses to fresh baked bread, pastries and savory baked goods.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Great Food, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I had ate breakfast at Food dance a few years back. But it's just one of those places we never think to eat dinner at. We finally booked our 7:15pm reservations through Open Table and showed up 2 hours later. We were able to request a booth and the atmosphere was great. It wasn't too loud and was very enjoyable. Food Dance uses a wide variety of local food sources so that's pretty neat. Some of the seafood options are flown in from Alaska and I have several friends who rave about it. We had the duck and the supreme mac and cheese. (supreme may not be the correct word, but it has bacon and other toppings on it as well - very good.) We enjoyed nice salads with our meals and would highly recommend Food Dance because everything was great. The hosts were very friendly and the server was very responsive.

A solid choice if you're going to be downtown!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGameCrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    152
    41
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So good we drove four hours to go back the next weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have now eaten here twice. Once for dinner and once with my family for lunch. The first time was with a friend on a recommendation and we were not disappointed. We had a peas and carrots appetizer that sounded pretty simple and turned out to be something much more elegant, an amazing pea mash with small perfectly cooked carrots and mascarpone cheese they make in house. My salmon was perfectly cooked and delicious. Our waitress was able to answer all our food questions and was very sweet. I had such a good time I made my family drive two hours each way the next Saturday to enjoy this restaurant. We loved the ginger mint lemonade and ultimate mac and cheese is not to be missed. Even something small like the french fries that came with my young son's meal were fresh and as he said "heavenly" with the house made ketchup. All fresh made mostly in house wonderfully thought out food. Totally worth the four hour round trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place buys local. The food is incredibly tasty. Nice layout. Downtown Kalamazoo location. Small parking lot. Medium priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithDogsNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kalamazoo's answer to A2's Zingerman's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Like the famous eats in A2, this place is committed to using Good Food, expertly sourced. It shows, as the food has wonderful taste and flavor. As well, the beer and wine list is amazing. Finally, it just has a cool vibe. I loved the "corn stalk" pillars...could have been cheesy, but was funky fun. My companion had Canned Summer, which was last summer's corn served in a gratin dish, along with bbq chicken and German potato salad. It was perfect on a freezing cold day. My ultimate mac and cheese had delicious thick pieces of bacon and spinach. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salbolal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Foodies live here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food Dance is a place you'd expect to find in a city with a more sophisticated, educated palate - think NYC, Chicago, San Francisco - tons of fresh, local, high quality ingredients prepared by and served by staff who know a lot about their product. Suffice it to say this is the ONLY place we have found anywhere in/near Kalamazoo that serves freshly-squeezed OJ, 100% pure maple syrup (not maple-flavored corn syrup), and crafts their own ketchup! Comfortable seats, good space, reasonable service speed, and great food. It's a bit pricier than other spots, but well worth the extra couple of bucks (it's not overpriced; just priced right for the quality). We moved here from Chicago in 2000 and have been generally disappointed with the level of food quality in the local restaurant scene. It seems most people are either unaware, or simply don't care (or are too cheap) to demand really good quality food - just look at how many restaurants in the area serve truly pedestrian fare. Thankfully, Food Dance does understand that great food will draw customers and they don't have to play the "cheapest coffee in town" card. Keep doing what you do, Food Dance foodies - we appreciate it very much!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Dance Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Food Dance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing