We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting something more”
Review of Food Dance Cafe

Food Dance Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Food Dance Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 340 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pitcher St.
Description: For 20 years, Food Dance has been committed to building a thriving and sustainable local food system. We support artisans who practice craft food processes that have been around for generations-growing, raising, preserving, curing, aging, pickling, butchering and more. For Food Dance, it's about the connection with the people and places their food comes from-authentic people and authentic food that's true to its source. Serving breakfast, lunch or dinner-guests are served the freshest menu items in a casual and welcoming atmosphere. We offer private dining space for celebrations or larger groups as well as catering and delivery. We host cooking classes and special dinners throughout the year - aimed to introduce guests to new elements of the culinary and agricultural worlds. Our on-site market offers amazing ingredients sourced from their family of purveyors-from sustainable, humanely raised meats, sausages and artisan cheeses to fresh baked bread, pastries and savory baked goods.
Downers Grove
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I was expecting something more”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After reading different reviews, I thought the food would be fantastic. At our table, we had both types of mac and cheese, which were quite bland. We also had the mushroom ravioli which also was lacking flavor. The salmon was okay. For the price, I would have expected more

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank martsele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    165
    44
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tries and misses, at least on this visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We split the Thai lettuce wrap appetizer, which were great, but tiny. I can sometimes order an appetizer instead of a meal, but not with these. The "bowl" of soup was also more of a cup. I had the square dance salad, which was generous, but the carmelized onions were just a soggy mess, and the super soft farm cheese belonged on a cracker, not on a salad. My friend had the squash risotto, which was generous in size and saved by the delicious and crunchy pepitas.

This is a kzoo favorite and my friends love it, but I have to say that after about 10 visits, I haven't found anything I would order again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 725sde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Farm Fresh Foods”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This local restaurant incorporates the community by offering cooking classes, using local produce in the restaurant, and helping teach healthy living. The front of the store is a small market/deli selling kitchen ware and unusual items. Once you enter the dining room the large vegetable motif will make you feel like you are part of the garden. Check out the menu on the website to save time deciding. Great desserts, delicious food, intoxicating drink choices--Food Dance is a favorite in Kalamazoo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
314 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went there for our Anniversary and we were very disappointed. Sloooow service and so so food were all we experienced. In addition the atmosphere was so loud we could hardly converse across our table. Won't go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It seems Food Dance is always open! They have a great menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Unique options, always good. Great service too. There's also a shop where you can buy cheeses, delicious desserts and take out. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Dance Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Food Dance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing