We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday morning treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bob Evans - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bob Evans
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday morning treat”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Always fresh tasty food and coffee, always good service. Smells great. Has selections ok for diabetics. Sometimes too crowded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chicken Salad”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to Bob Evan's on our way home from vacation. I saw they had a Chicken Salad, and thought I would try it. It was amazing. The fruit that came with it was fresh and there was a lot of it. The price was very affordable also. I really recommend this item and place to eat.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 25YearCelebraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Breakfast Only”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Eggs, Pancakes and oatmeal are hard to mess up. Kids had to go to Bob Evans today for dinner, so I ordered a "farm fresh" burger... absolutely the worst hamburger ever. It looked like a frozen veggie burger, but tasted worse.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went to Bob Evan's and had their $9.95 steak special. The garden salad was fresh but they could have peeled the cucumbers. I would have expected unpeeled cukes at a fly by night mom and pop restaurant not at a national chain. The steak was good even though a little over cooked. The mashed potatoes were instant and under cooked. I chose a cookie for desert and what can you say about a cookie except that it looked and tasted like that it was a packaged product and not cooked on site. The restaurant was clean and the staff very friendly. This place is okay to eat but I wouldn't make it an everyday choice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hi_just_me2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Crappy old people food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Really? In a town like Kalamazoo with dozens of the best restaurants in Michigan, you're going to eat at Bob Evan's?Unfortunately, my youngest loves their pancakes and will eat them for every meal if we let him. The last time we went I had their pot roast sandwich and it was just garbage. So much fat, over-cooked meat, soggy bread. Yuck. I don't remember what I ordered the last time I was cajoled into going, but it was equally bland and gross. Do you lose your taste buds when you age? I hope that doesn't happen to me.

Skip Bob Evan's in whatever town you're visiting, but in Kalamazoo there is no excuse - unless if you have a kid who likes pancakes.

Helpful?
1 Thank tabannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing