We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwater's Donut Mill

Sweetwater's Donut Mill
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sweetwater's Donut Mill is a family owned bakery located in southwest Michigan. The Garner Family has owned each of the 3 donut shops since the very beginning when they opened their doors in 1983. Each donut is handmade with the same quality ingredients that were used in the beginning, and the restaurants are proud of the fact that they have become a tradition for many families over the past 30 years.
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

They do have an amazing variety and great prices. I tried all of the half dozen I got and wasn't wowed by any. Loved the atmosphere as others have said, very homey. The donuts are very heavy and cakey, and the cream is very rich. I prefer the more yeasty ones they have such as the lemon filled. Great value here though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank west_suburbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    48
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
“Delicious Dreamy Donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The title says it all. This place has the best of the best donuts available at such great prices. 89 cents for a donut? You can't beat that! The Dunkin' Donuts down Westnedge don't even compare, they're frozen, more money, smaller, and overall more dry- not qualities I want in my donuts. If you're looking for those huge honkers, definitely go to Sweetwaters, all of their donuts don't disappoint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Little Donut Shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband & I stopped here on our way out of Kalamazoo after a weekend getaway. I liked the feel of the shop....very friendly and a wide variety of donuts! I had never seen Oreo donuts before!
We ordered a dozen donuts to take home to the kids. We don't eat donuts often, so it was a treat for sure.
If we go back to K'Zoo, we will definitely stop at Sweetwater's again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
“NOM NOM NOM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

These donuts are BIG, TASTY, and NOM-ARIFIC! They have a wide variety of sweet treats that range from your standard glazed donut to apple fritters that are the size of a large frisbee! The store has a great old-time feel that is very welcoming and the staff is very helpful and are willing to go the extra mile to make sure that you leave happy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Javez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge Delicious Donuts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had to visit Sweetwater's after reading other reviews. The donuts are good size and there is an abundance of choice for every taste. My peanut butter cup was just ok but the Oreo I had the next day was yummy! The prices are cheap and staff is friendly. Even if you aren't a donut eater, you owe to yourself to splurge and give it a try.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GorillaPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater's Donut Mill also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Sweetwater's Donut Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing