We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety and Price make the day”

Sweetwater's Donut Mill
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sweetwater's Donut Mill is a family owned bakery located in southwest Michigan. The Garner Family has owned each of the 3 donut shops since the very beginning when they opened their doors in 1983. Each donut is handmade with the same quality ingredients that were used in the beginning, and the restaurants are proud of the fact that they have become a tradition for many families over the past 30 years.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Variety and Price make the day”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I drove up, starting in Chicago, to visit friends in Michigan. After seeing a friend in Bangor, we drove about 60 miles (round trip) to Sweetwater Kalamazoo to get two dozen assorted filled donuts. Usually it is overload with donuts and only a few people, this time it was a little short on donuts and loaded with people. The service was prompt and efficient and at $7.50 a dozen, the price was great. I highly recommend it. If you are getting a dozen or multiples, ask for the frequent customer card where they stamp it for each dozen you buy. It looks like after a dozen stamps you get a free dozen donuts. Oh yes, it is open 24/7 so enjoy around the clock.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    52
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Donuts galore!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went to visit Western Michigan and was told about this donut shop. Bought a few and shared them with my family. Can't go wrong with any kind you get. If I send my daughter to college there, the open 24-7 sign is not a good thing. I'm sure to be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This is how donuts should taste”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Huge, huge, huge donuts with an equally huge selection. I struggled with having so many choices and committing to one so I opted for the donut holes. Soooo delicious. The Dutch crumb and cinnamon sugar were my favorites. The powdered sugar donut looked like trouble (dust me for prints). I wish they sampled the other flavors in donut hole sizes!!!
Super friendly staff and what it assumed to be daily patrons. (Norm!)
We will dream of these tasty treats while we count calories on the other side of the state. :)

Helpful?
Thank skweingartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best ever!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was in Kalamazoo for a college visit and had to stop in here. Best donuts we've ever had. Many to choose from and all were very, very fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C5edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Donuts in a Down-Home Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Located in an unimpressive area just to the Southwest of the university, you would never suspect what is found inside. This place is rated as one of the top ten attractions in all of Kalamazoo, so I had to check it out.

You get a good idea about what you are in for when you walk in and see the place, and then take note of the clientele. I ordered the plain donut to see what these people are made of, and then tried the sugar-cinamon donut. Good, honest, old-fashioned donuts as I remember them at the cider mill. A good crunch on the outside, and soft doughy on the inside. Which by the way, in Fall they do have fresh cider. If you are counting calories, you don't need to come here.

My daughter went for the Boston cream pie donut. We both thought it was great.......really a special treat. My wife got the recommended chocolate donut with frosting and chocolate chips. It was OK, but a little over the top.......too sweet for even a sweeth-tooth like me.

To be honest, the best experience was people-watching. The old-timers who have their customary places at the counter, and the small children eating their donuts with pink frosting that inevitably gets all over their faces. Priceless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pontevecchio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater's Donut Mill also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Sweetwater's Donut Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing