We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best Mexican restaurant in all of Michigan”
Review of El Gallo Blanco

El Gallo Blanco
Ranked #32 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the best Mexican restaurant in all of Michigan”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Okay, I might be exaggerating because I haven't traveled around all of Michigan, but I did move from Los Angeles a few years ago, & El Gallo Blanco's fare was comparable to Mexican food in Southern California. I've been complaining about the Mexican food in mid-Michigan, but I would drive the 1.5 hours to Kalamazoo to revisit El Gallo Blanco.

Clues that this restaurant is the real deal:
1. The menu includes descriptions of the dishes in Spanish
2. The restaurant offers cow tongue & menudo.
3. Spanish-speaking patrons eat there.
4. Very busy but reasonably priced.

The salsa that comes with the chips is spicy, & the guacamole is divine. I ordered the Camarones al Mojo del Ajo, which came with tortillas & was delicious. We also had a chicken torta, very yummy. My spouse ordered a breakfast omelet, which was tasty. We realized that both our dishes had a lot of butter in them (no surprise for me because my dish is shrimp grilled with butter & garlic), so a part of the yummy-ness factor is their liberal use of butter. I like to eat healthy but no complaints here.

We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“authentic”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Best mexican in town. Huge portions and very reasonably priced. Make sure you dine in for the chips and fresh salsa. Only thing that would be better is the ability to have a beer with my burrito!

No liquor license.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and perfect”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent food. Reasonably priced. This place is a gem. Be sure to try the horchata. Best Mexican food in Kalamazoo, by far!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent place place to get an affordable meal; breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The parking can be difficult

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We started going to this restaurant regularly when it opened.There have been a number of Mexican restaurants in this area but none compares to El Gallo Blanco in taste. I like that they always have horchata, what's a Mexican restaurant without a good drink? They also always have lingua for their burritos (and as an option for other dishes as well). They aren't afraid to put some jalapenos in either. The burrito is both good and an amazing bargain. The fajitas are a steaming thing of beauty! Yeah - the service is sometimes slow but they are making everything from scratch! The price is reasonable too. We love this place. Our son spent two years in Mexico near Mexico City - this is the only Mexican restaurant in Kalamazoo he wants to go to when he visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallo Blanco also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to El Gallo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing