We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average for High Price”

Henderson Castle Restaurant
Ranked #249 of 340 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: French, Fusion, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to The Henderson Castle, the most popular inn in Kalamazoo. Whether you're local or coming from Grand Rapids, Detroit, Lansing, South Bend or Chicago, you'll find us to be the best destination for your anniversary, birthday, wedding, graduation or romantic getaway. Situated in the historic West Main Hill neighborhood, you're minutes away from the theatres, shopping and vibrant night life of downtown Kalamazoo, but secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night free from the noise of the city. When you're with us, you'll have a royal experience. Wake up to an incredible breakfast prepared by our French chef François Moyet. Get a massage, facial or manicure in our day spa. Soak in our rooftop hot tub while taking in the best view of downtown Kalamazoo that's available. Stay for dinner at our restaurant and indulge in the finest French food southwest Michigan has to offer. Why settle for a hotel - instead experience luxury fit for a King or Queen. In addition to the inn, restaurant and spa, we offer a banquet hall and ball room that can accomodate ceremonies, corporate meetings, holiday parties, family events, baby showers and more. Our lodging is available per night, for a weekend or could even be arranged for extended stay. Our daily tours, princess tea parties, murder mystery dinner party and high tea are fun things to do in Kalamazoo. If you'd like to book a room, make dinner reservations or just have a question, don't hesitate to contact us. The Henderson Castle Inn is here for every type of guest. Relax in our ADA accessible guest room, the Library Room, featuring an accessible shower with grab bars & handheld shower-head. A ramp wraps around the rear of the Castle and can be accessed by using the Gallery entrance to allow accessibility to the 1st floor. Unfortunately the 2nd and 3rd floors can be accessed by stairs only. While the restaurant is located primarily on the 1st floor, events are sometimes scheduled in the 3rd floor Ballroom.
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average for High Price”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service was just ok. For the price we were asked to keep our silverware. When she did take it was not replaced and our food sat there until she replaced it. Water glasses not refilled, no ice. Salads were warm and not much dressing. We ordered the 11 course meal as I wanted the Beef Tenderloin with BERNAISE sauce. Meal arrived with Red Wine Sauce instead, potatoes cold, and beef was cold, green beans lukewarm at best. When asked why red wine sauce instead of the menu item, never got an answer even asking several times. Too many sweet items following. The Lobster Bisque was awesome and the only hot part of the meal. Probably will not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    7
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We dined at this grand, historic house, with the help of a $50 gift card. The menu consisted of three choices of several course dinners at rather high set prices The various items were mostly very good and the wine and cocktails were reasonably priced for a fine dining restaurant. The best part of our experience was the performance of our waiter, Josh, a graduate student at the MSU school of music who played a couple of beautiful pieces on his viola and then, after we had already signed our check, volunteered to take us on a thorough tour of the entire building, including all of the extravagantly decorated guest rooms, which were not occupied that evening. It was also a very slow night at the restaurant: I think ours was one of only three tables served that night and we were the last to leave. His table service was ok, but not professional but, afterwards he really shone when he played the music he loved and showed us the grand, old, somewhat run down, building which he seemed to love, as well. We plan to dine at the Henderson Castle again whenever we return to work or visit in Kalamazoo. If we are not on company business we look forward to a stay in the unique, romantic inn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABLePlymouth_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very slow service, inexperienced staff, and worse than average food.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm sorry to have to write such a bad review, because the Henderson Castle is a beautiful building in a spectacular location. But the dinner we four had there tonight was WAY less than good. We sat for 35 minutes before our first cocktail arrived. Our server knew very little about the menu, and she was training a new server...... scary! The newbie stood hovering around like Lurch - doing nothing when there was LOTS that could have been done to make our dining experience better.
The drinks were very small, very expensive, and not properly made (WAY too sweet). The pork was dry and overcooked, the steak Diane tough, the chicken marsala over cooked, and the drunken shrimp had very little flavor. The best part of the meal was the flourless chocolate cake: it was fresh and delicious.
STAY AWAY if you have any food allergies!! They're clueless...... After telling our server that one of our diners was gluten free, she was twice served items containing gluten.

When we sat down, our table cloth was soiled. That was a good sign of what was to come: poor service, bad food, and a dining experience "not worth what paid for."

Sorry Henderson Castle. We wanted to love it, but it wasn't even average. We won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive and not as we expected.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Four of us went to dinner at Henderson Castle for a birthday celebration. When we arrived we asked for a wine list and were told they were working on their liquor license, but we could have brought a bottle with us. We were not told this when the reservations were made. There were 3 different menus: a four course dinner, a seven course dinner and an eleven course dinner. It was suggested that we all order from the same menu as it would be easier to serve. We all decided on the 7 course meal for $50 per person. The first course was a class of non-alcholic champagne, the second was a quiche about 2 inches in diameter with a cherry tomato pushed in the middle. The third course was a house salad. Just an ordinary salad with two choices of dressing - a house made vinegrette and ranch- not made in house. The fourth course was a bowl of soup. The flavor was good, but I had 3 bites of meat in mine and my husband had a bowlful of meat. The fifth course was a roll to go with the soup (no bread plates were provided). The sixth course was an entree -- several choices. The Steak Diane was acceptable, but nothing exceptional. The pork was overdone. The flounder was not commented on. The seventh course was dessert. It was an angel food cake with lemon custard creme. It was the best course of the dinner. After that, we were also served one small bite of a red velvet cake with butter creme frosting. Both the quiche and red velet cake had two persons' servings on a single small plate.

The server seemed inexperienced and uncomfortable with customers.

The whole experience was mediocre at its best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and fun entertainment”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate here in celebration of Valentine's Day. The food was delicious. I had the Steak Diane with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes and my husband had the Bacon wrapped Pork Tenderloin. They had a saxophone player during dinner by candlelight in a fine dining experience. We had plenty to eat and felt pampered. Bring your own beverage, if you want wine or beer. We would eat here again if we were showing off the area, or celebrating a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henderson Castle Restaurant also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Henderson Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing