We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comforatble and perfect for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm giving this high marks because I know how travelers (us included) rely on this site for reliable, up-to-date information when staying out of town in unknown cities and areas. Nowadays these reviews are crucial to decision making for us.
We booked a room at Microtel Kalamazoo because we were attending a wedding in the area and live about two hours away. We knew we wouldn't have time to check in before the wedding, so all we really needed is somewhere to crash after the reception. This hotel is perfect for that. Very clean, and great friendly service. Check the name: "MICROtel" so yes, it's a small room, but we knew that since we have stayed in one before.
We checked in sometime after 11, checked out 12 hours later. Perfect stay and a nice simple breakfast in the morning. (we are both fine with continental type breakfast most mornings)
I can honestly say we have zero negatives. If you want to pay less, in most areas that means you will probably be sacrificing something; service, cleanliness, location etc.
We recommend it, and would lodge there again without hesitation for this type of stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rand0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank LBitt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Microtel is owned and operated by Wyndham Hotels. What a difference from most other Microtels. The hotel is about one year old and is done in a newer style that is very pleasing on the eye. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. They offer complimentary (as in FREE) laundry facilities and will even give you laundry detergent if you need it. I don't ever remember finding this at any place we have ever stayed. Breakfast includes yogurt, hard boiled eggs, microwave biscuit and egg, make your own waffles and fresh fruit plus all the usual cereals, minimuffins, etc. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and appreciative of your patronage. What a find, we'll be back. Book ahead for the best rates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegascouple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year and gave it a 5-star rating. So, without even considering other options, I booked it again this year. It wasn't as good this time around. I thought I was getting a king-size bed. My bill says it was a queen-size bed, but it felt like only a full-size bed. A couple of the washcloths in the bathroom were dingy. There was a long black hair in one of the bath towels. And I couldn't get the shower temperature to regulate. It went from scalding hot to freezing cold. However, it was clean, well-lit, fairly quiet, and roomy. I love the dorm-size refrigerator and microwave, and the little bar with stools. We got a great rate. And after our long drive, it was nice to walk over to the Cracker Barrel restaurant right next door. But I don't know if I'll stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not sure if the Wyndham takeover is responsible, but they have certainly upgraded a lot of the Microtels in the process. We stayed here on a one night stopover and couldn't be more pleased. The price was under $80 and the facility was updated and spotless. Rooms were a good size with fridge and microwave. Front desk clerk was a bit inexperienced not real helpful, but the entire facility was clean. If you're looking for amenities, there was no pool or extras here and some of the people staying here went next door to a Fairfield to swim.

Only real drawback was the breakfast which was bland and had nothing hot except those pre-made waffle iron batters. Could use some english muffins so we have a choice on bread and bagels. This, however was a minor beef. Our family really liked the flat screen TV, and the roomy two Queen arrangement. I would definitely recommend this place in the future. Very, very nice and right off 94.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcusg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
6.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
7.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo

Address: 5597 South 9th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy modern comfort at an affordable rate at the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham! Just off the I-94 and 131 interchange, our location is ideal for both business and leisure travelers in the Kalamazoo area. Comfortable guest rooms showcase pillow-top mattresses, in-room coffee makers, lighted work desks and flat screen HDTV's. Wake up to our expanded continental breakfast steps away from your room and connect to our free WiFi to plan your day in beautiful Kalamazoo. Lodging includes free parking, a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary guest laundry facilities, a business center as well as free calls within the continental United States. Our deluxe suite rooms offer all of the comforts of our standard rooms with the added luxury of a comfortable sleeper sofas, kitchenettes and separate areas for working and relaxing. Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham - Designed for a better hotel stay. **Handicap-accessible rooms available** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing