We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All around good experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the past year. It is clean and well kept, in very good condition. The front desk staff is always pleasant and upbeat, particularly Amy, who has a very positive attitude and always greets the guests with a smile. The dining area has recently been remodeled and the staff who attend that area also do a very good job. I tend to judge a hotel on how "tired" it looks, the attention to cleaning detail in the bathrooms, and the general demeanor of the front desk staff, and this hotel gets good marks on all of the above.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDHBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    95
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
134
58
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We did not expect much based on some reviews we read, but were very pleased with this hotel. It was clean, bright and orderly. The beds had new matresses which were very comfortable and the public areas had just been renovated. All of the systems worked well (plumbing and AC) and the breakfast was OK. Right off the interstae but quiet enough. And there was a Culver's next door for the ice cream fix!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lga311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
217 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not that "average" is bad, when it comes to Hampton Inns, mind you. To me, "average" is just what I'd expect: cleanliness, a genuine appreciation for my spending money with them and a convenient location. Frankly, most Hampton Inns are a great value. However, a couple "extras" made this one special. Upon check-in, Matt was friendly, made it a point to use my name and tell me about the hotel and noted that he had placed me in a "high room away from the elevator," as my Hilton profile requests. Later that afternoon, he gave me a call to make sure everything was satisfactory. Returning the next night, he again greeted me. After check out, I received a call letting me know that I had left an article of clothing in my room. Fortunately, I was still in Kalamazoo and was able to stop on my way home to retrieve the article. This is a terrific Hampton Inn and will be the place I stay when travel takes me next to the Kalamazoo area. (And, delivery is available from Erbelli's Pizza, see the separate review for them).

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevator, to minimize noise and disruptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierTravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

cleaned the rooms was cheerful and greeted you. The maintenance staff gave a sweet smile. The front desk crew was very helpful with finding things around the city.

However, I forgot my business calendar in a drawer. The hotel called as we were heading home and had said she would fed ex the calendar (at my expense, of course which is fine) and I should have it in a couple days.

I waited until Wednesday and still hadn’t seen the calendar. So I called the hotel and explained the situation. She said she would call the manager I spoke to and get right back to me. I never heard from her and no Fed Ex truck came on Wednesday.

So I called on Thursday and spoke to a male front desk attendant. I explained the situation from the beginning and he said. “I don’t have the calendar so there isn’t anything I can do, please call back tomorrow”. This is where I lose my cool. I asked if he could get me a manger and surprise surprise….no manger will be there until tomorrow. After several suggestions on how to solve the situation, I asked if he could actually call his manager. He said he could. So I asked if he could find out if it shipped and what was the fed ex tracking number. So I said “Seriously, as a customer service rep don’t you think you should be coming up with these solutions?”

Anyway…long story to end, he called me back after “supposedly” check with his manager and said it was today and I should have it tomorrow. Guess what it is 1030p and no fed ex delivery!!
Now that I have lost my appointments, my information and so much more in that calendar – I have given up. Obviously their clerks lie. They aren’t sending it. And I am without it. Yes, my mistake for forgetting it, but so frustrating that they lied and won’t help me get it back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charltontj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding our facilities. We pride ourselves not only we being friendly and courteous while you stay with us but surely after. We did find your missing item and did attempt to return to you. Several days after this review was posted your item was successfully returned to you. I personally went down to the package depot and waited until they recovered the lost package. I’m hoping you can forgive us, we know the great value of planner and I did all that I could giving the circumstances to return your forgotten item in a timely manner.

Sincerely,
Gary Sabbagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed two nights recently at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Kalamazoo/Oshtemo. I had my hands full upon arrival, and the one individual at the check in desk was preoccupied with a lengthy call from someone making reservations. The lobby/breakfast area is newly remodeled and makes for a relaxing place to sit and chat and/or have breakfast. It seemed to be the standard Hampton Inn breakfast, but included sometype of bagel with eggs and stuff on it...and it was good. We had a king suite on the top floor and it was quiet. This location has easy access to I-94 and is nearby a Speedway gas station, McDonalds, Arbys, Culvers, and Cracker Barrel.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor (top) for a quiet rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
469 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Not fancy, but clean, convienient, and a good value. They're renovating the lobby, but there's no construction during sleeping or breakfast hours. This is a 2nd generation (my estimate) Hampton and while the rooms aren't luxurious, they're clean, big enough, and fairly comfortable. Easy access from I-94.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have stayed at Hampton's all over the country and have never come across the must rude and unfriendly front desk staff ever. I wrote to the General Manager of my concerns, and of course no response from them either. I can see where the staff gets their customer service training from. You lost a loyal Hilton customer at your location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MassTravelor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I am very sorry for not responding to your email in a timelier fashion. I am displeased to hear that you were not greeted with the utmost courteousness of a professional front desk staff member. Unfortunately the renovation has a taken a toll on some of our staff. We always strive for our staff to be welcoming to all and after receiving your email this concern has been discussed. Our guests’ satisfaction and loyalty is very important and I am very disappointed to hear that we cannot restore your business at this time. We will continue to strive for improvement in all aspects of our industry and I hope that we can make amends in the future and show you the hospitality we are capable of offering.

Sincerely,
Bert Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
5.8 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Address: 5059 S 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kalamazoo
#3 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo Hotel Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn And Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing