We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Henderson Castle Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Henderson Castle was an awesome choice for our anniversary. The accommodations and staff go over the top to make you feel like a King and Queen. Be sure to book your EXTRAORDINARY dinner for a complete experience. The grounds need a little touching up, but it made the experiance feel historical.

Room Tip: The Earth and Sky Room is the only guest room on the first floor right near the main enterance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    35
    23
    43
See reviews for
33
127
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the castle for our wedding anniversary and it was beyond our expectations! The food, the accommodations, and the hospitality was all first class...we will return!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went to castle in November 2011. We didn't know what to expect because we had never been. The castle was beautiful, like staying in a museum. We originally reserved the Earth Sky Room but were upgraded to the Dutch Room. When we walked in soft music was playing, the smells from the kitchen were amazing, and we were greeting very warmly. We also used the rooftop hot tub and I highly recommend it. It was cold out but you couldn't tell, it was very relaxing sitting there watching the night sky. The next morning we had the most delicious french toast for breakfast. The service, food, and general surroundings were great! I would highly recommend it for a nice night out.

Room Tip: With the Dutch room we had a lot of space and a beautiful view at the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I took my boyfriend to Henderson Castle for one night as a Christmas present, and we ended up staying in the Earth and Sky Room. The mural on the ceiling was beautiful, and the embedded LED lights made the room one to remember. We could also see the whole city from the rooftop hot tub, and the foyer and lobby were breathtaking.

I did some snooping around and got to see almost every room. There was something unique about each one, and I thought it was wonderful that they were kept open for people to see as long as no one was staying in them. Next time we go, I cannot wait to actually try the food, see the garden in all of it's glory, and utilize more of Henderson's services.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We came here on St. Patrick's day looking for a quiet place to get away from crowds, and Henderson Castle delivered (we stayed in the Tibetan room, with its colorful ceiling lights). The building is literally a small castle on a hill, and does a great job mixing historical charm with modern-feeling technology. Gorgeous, quiet, and romantic. Francois was quick to respond to any questions or concerns, and does a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSABJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

After our initial experience I contacted Francois and he invited my wife and I for another dinner to remedy the situation, this time it was a fabulous experience and him and Mike (the new manager) made sure that we had a remarkable dining experience. Food was great and the service was excellent (Francois himself cooked tableside for us and talked to us about his french heritage and other things), after dinner Mike took us for an unofficial tour of the castle and we were blown away by the architecture and the heritage of the place.

Francois is really lucky to own this place and we hope that Henderson Castle becomes an icon of Kalamazoo under his leadership (I think it will), he was passionate about supporting local farmers and buying local produce so that was another big plus. In these days of big box stores and cheap import products I strongly believe in supporting locally made products so I really appreciate that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Henderson Castle for the first time, and we loved it! It truly does take you back in time. The castle itself has so much character. From the woodwork to the ceilings, it's amazing architectually. We were able to stay in the Earth-Sky Room, and it was amazing. We loved the LED lights on the ceiling, as it made you feel like you were laying under the stars. Plus, the actual constellation and painting on the ceiling was unbelievable. We just sat there staring up at the ceiling forever. The service was great, and we enjoyed the freedom to walk around the castle by ourselves and explore. It was neat to see the whole castle. Everything was so historic and uniqiue, yet it was extremely clean and well taken care of. The hot tub on the roof is a must. You could see the whole entire city of Kalamazoo, yet they couldn't see you! Another perk is that here is no set "curfew." If you wanted to leave for a while for a late night snack run, you could, hassle free. It was a wonderful stay and we look forward to going back! It's a great getaway in Kalamazoo!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
1.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Castle Inn

Property: Henderson Castle Inn
Address: 100 Monroe St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006-4433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henderson Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Henderson Castle, the most popular bed and breakfast in Kalamazoo. Whether you're local or coming from Grand Rapids, Detroit, Lansing, South Bend or Chicago, you'll find us to be the best destination for your anniversary, birthday, wedding, graduation or romantic getaway. Situated in the historic West Main Hill neighborhood, you're minutes away from the theatres, shopping and vibrant night life of downtown Kalamazoo, but secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night free from the noise of the city. When you're with us, you'll have a royal experience. Wake up to an incredible breakfast prepared by our French chef Francois Moyet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Henderson Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson Castle Inn Bed And Breakfast
Henderson Castle Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing