We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Museum”

Kalamazoo Valley Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Museum”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great atmostphere, roomy, clean, modern and a ton of exhibits for all age groups. My younger children enjoy the new exploration area with puppets, dress up, books, games in a bright contained trio of rooms.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kjohnson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    66
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to take the family”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We take our kids here a few times a year . Its free but they do take donations . The planetarium is great especially around Halloween time . My son always go straight to the mummy which is a very cool display . Would love it if they had a snack shack and the gift shop has been gone for years . Great place to bring young children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelAvenger1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A completely unexpected surprise. It is difficult to find things that are worthwhile that are absolutely free but this place was AWESOME. I went with a group of adults (all with cognitive disAbilities) and they LOVED it (as did I). There are plenty of hands on things to do which is so great to keep people of all ages involved in the museum experience. There is a planetarium that you can plan a private show (ahead of schedule) or go to regularly scheduled shows. The second floor was a favorite for sure, really wonderful and detailed exhibits.

There wasn't a lot of parking available in the immediate area, there were a few places pretty close (parking ramps) that you had to pay for.

Staff was friendly and helpful especially in interactions on the phone in order to plan our visit. We were originally going to bring a picnic lunch in. They brought a large cart out for us to store our food in even labeled with our group name. We didn't end up using it but what a nice option.

I will be returning without a doubt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good fun”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

good free fun for the kids. the ice cream parlor is my kids fav. a lot more hands on stuff now. friendly staff and volunteers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NR49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent free museum”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The KVM is a wonderful free museum. It is a great place for families, has interesting revolving exhibits, and a wonderful planetarium. The Challenger space center if very fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antityco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamazoo Valley Museum also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Kalamazoo Valley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing