We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise find”
Review of The Union

The Union
Ranked #21 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were traveling back home after holiday travel in Indiana. Decided to stop in Kalamzoo for dinner, since I had not been back much since my college days. We walked the Kalamazoo Mall, which is a portion of road with limited travel to encourage walking and browsing the unique shops and eating establishments. Were drawn in by the live band, The Skeletones. They were amazing. I ordered the gyros burger which was very tasty and unique. My honey ordered the oven roasted chicken which was very good. The potatoes (fries and fried red skin potato mash) were not very good or seasoned very well. We both tried spring special drinks; I had the basil blueberry lemonade, which was amazing. The atomosphere was fun, as you would expect in a college town. A very diverse crowd. Will definitely stop there again as we travel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMBWAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    24
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Always a great time!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Union always has an excellent menu, great drinks (mojitos & martinis) and live music! Very nice atmosphere and great service in downtown Kalamazoo. A great bar area, too, if you are doing a Kalamazoo crawl or happy hour!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank decoratingplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1st timer -very enjoyable”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Went for the first time the other day with business associates. Everybody ordered something different. All 8 of us enjoyed our meals. I had the salmon. This was prepared very well. It was a fair sized portion. It was seved with asparagus n potatoes. The meal was very yummy. It was just under $18.

The atmosphere was nice. A jazz band came on shortly after 8pm on wednesday night. Their music was ok but we enjoyed the interesting actions of the bandmates. When the guy on sax wasnt playing he looked very bored almost mad. The guy on. Ase did a great job with the zombie head bob and stare. Both played very well. They were the center of our laughter for a while.

All of us will definaty go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chkobserves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good music, underseasoned food”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

good music venue, local artists almost every night. Good menu selection, but underseasoned

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank socalgalx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oh, sorry but the meal will be a little bit more, like DOUBLE the price.”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The dinner my wife and I had at the Union was great, right up to the time when the waitress gave us the bill and said that she had quoted us the lunch price for the special and that the bill would be a little more than quoted. Ok, no problem, we received the check and the special went from $6.50 to $12.00. Just a little more. We paid the bill and left for good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1BigMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Union also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to The Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing