We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Handicap stay Okay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Kalamazoo
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Caro, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Handicap stay Okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed there last year, for the big dog show thats in town. The manager went out of his way to take care of my needs. While there is no big grassy area to walk the dogd, I felt safe, no weird going on besides barking dogs, but then again was at hotel for dog show.
At reservation I requested a fridge for my meds, the manager didn't have one, so went out and purchased one.
They was still renovating while I was there my room was big, and the flooring was nice till you got into the bathroon where they haven't fixed yet.
Close to almost everything, and good hotel for the cost.

Will be staying again this year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pernema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    7
    10
    17
See reviews for
5
6
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nothing good to say about this place.
4 doors down from us it seems a drug deal was happening... Bags being dropped off then the car left for only a different car to show up and grab the bag.
Police showed up.

Then in the morning found a car parked maybe 4 inches away from mine, this car had taken out the curb, then parked on the sidewalk with flat tires. Did not sleep a moment at all.

The blankets and sheets were gross, had burn marks and stains..

Room Tip: Don't go here ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsmomie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nate269, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
samsmomie20-
I'm sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Motel 6, we strive to provide a safe, comfortable stay for every guest. I completely agree that the suspicious activity you describe would be troubling. Unfortunately, being in the economy lodging industry, we on occasion draw certain guests who choose to engage in illegal activity and it is very difficult to prescreen guests.

As you witnessed firsthand, we are very fortunate to have a good working relationship with the Kalamazoo Department of Public Safety and other local law enforcement agencies. Our property receives routine police patrols and all reports of suspicious activity are immediately reported. Additionally, we cooperate with the police by refusing to rent rooms to local individuals known to be involved in the drug trade.

Regarding the condition of the room, I also am sorry to hear that your linens and terry were stained. This is not typical of a stay here as we pride ourselves on providing a clean, comfortable stay. I will ensure housekeeping is followed up with to prevent future occurrence.

I would like to invite you back to allow our staff another opportunity to exceed your expectations if you are ever in the Kalamazoo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel several years ago and vowed not to come back, until a friend told me it was renovated. Yes, it was a little better, but not much.

I used a promo code online for a special rate and upon check-in the clerk quoted $15 higher than my booked rate. Luckily, I printed out the confirmation and while she didn't give me any issues with it, it made me think they're NOT organized in honoring rates, so have proof!

The 2-bed room was very spacious, plenty of room for luggage, etc. The floors are linoleum w/ceramic tile in the bathroom areas. Everything was mostly clean, no sign of bugs. The bathroom was "tolerable" clean, but without towels. 3 phone calls later to the front desk and we finally got (very thin and small) towels. The only amenities in the room were 2 bars of soap, nothing else. The shower was great with hot water.

The beds were "ok" comfortable with very flat pillows. (bring your own) The top comforter had some small holes in it, all bedding, fairly clean. Lighting was great, door locks worked fine.

I second everyone's comments about the people around this hotel. There was a lot of goings ons in the parking lot, but nothing too loud or worrisome where we couldn't sleep.

This hotel is fine for a "passing by" for one night. Anything else, and you're better at the Red Roof on the other side of the highway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turkoize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Someone said "You get what you pay for".... NO I DID NOT!
I don't expect much from Motel6 but I would not put my name on this place if I were them.
The AC worked and the sheets were clean but that's it.
The un-carpeted floor was sticky... the room was grungy and well... most of the poor reviews I read here... I would agree with. We will not be back to this or any other Motel6.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

that's "average" for a Motel 6, not for the universe of hotels/motels out there. This M6 is on a small side road just off the freeway. It's one storey but fairly sprawling - there are several buildings. It's the standard motel-ish drive-up-to-your-door-and-park deal.

Checking in was straightforward enough, though the desk clerk took several minutes messing around with the computer system while I stood there waiting. I don't know what that was about. On the positive side, 15 minutes after I got to the room he called to verify that it was satisfactory. Upon reaching the door, I noted a cigarette butt on the ground at the foot of it. Entering the room, the first impression was "clean enough" which it mostly is. The next impression was tripping over a spot where the laminate flooring has been broken and is sticking up. Because of its location, I tripped over this quite a few times through the course of the evening. It really should be fixed before someone hurts themselves. The third impression was that I was sticking to the floor. It's the feeling that you get on a hard floor that's been mopped but not rinsed - that soapy/sticky feel, which is probably exactly what it was.

This is a renovated M6 but is not as renovated as the ones I've seen elsewhere. For example, there's no faux-fancy sink like I saw in other such M6s. The renovation seems to have been limited to putting down the flooring and painting one wall orange. What's been done to the room has since lost its luster, has become somewhat beat-up, though I suppose it's a (small) notch above a non-renovated property.

It was a Friday night and the parking lot noise continued into the morning hours. Cars starting, doors banging, hollering, kids (yes, at those hours) making noise. At one point a dog (at least I hope it was) was scratching at the door wanting to get in. Fortunately I didn't have any noisy neighbors. Again, this was a Friday so for all I know the place could be completely quiet during the week. The next morning after the walk to the office, I discovered that while there were two canisters of hot coffee on tap, they don't have hot water available, so those who like tea or like to make their own instant coffee are out of luck. I didn't use the TV so nothing to report there, but the (free) internet access is adequate, as was the cooling from the under-window unit.

All in all, it's pretty much par-for-the-course for an M6. I had higher hopes for this one because of it's "renovated" status on the M6 website, and because such properties elsewhere were considerably above the M6 average. This one is average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

One star. We left upon entry to the room, at least they were nice enough to refund our money. Needless to say, we only needed a few hours of sleep before getting back on the road. Arrived at 1am, and there was quite a bit of activity in the lot. (People drinking, loud noise, strange vehicles driving around the property in the all of FIVE MINUTES we were there. Looked as if someone dumped trash outside the door of our room. NO carpeting in the room, tasteless tile throughout! BADLY stained tub, and my biggest pet peave... Broken inner door slide-lock. (Hardware only showing half of a screw partially installed. Leads me to believe this motel is unsafe. After viewing someone's candid pictures only confirmed this more. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone. Most of the properties on this side of the street along with this seemed to share most of these qualities. This would be one of the few times I would say, stay with the "BIG BOX" hotels in the area. (This hotel is independently owned & operated, and not somewhere I would advise!)

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are uncomfortable with anything other than cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Frugal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

You can't beat the price for a quick sleep. The linens were clean, but the walls are VERY thin. Pray that you don't get energetic neighbors like we did.
The rooms need definite work. Orange walls, rusting and peeling fixtures.
Pros: cheap, free wifi, coupons for meals at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#23 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Kalamazoo

Property: Motel 6 Kalamazoo
Address: 3704 Vanrick Dr, I-94 at Exit 80/Sprinkle Rd, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-0807
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Kalamazoo features 104 spacious guestrooms each with private bathroom and the guests choice of bed type and smoking preference. Kids 17 and under and pets stay for free. Included in the rate is free wireless internet, free morning coffee served in the lobby, free HBO, ESPN, plus 70 more cable channels, and unlimited free local calls. A guest coin laundry and vending machines are available. Also available at a nominal fee are microwaves, fridges, and copy/fax service. Motel 6 Kalamazoo is the best value and has the lowest price of any national chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Motel 6
Kalamazoo Motel Six
Motel Six Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing