We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu”
Review of Hunan Gardens

Hunan Gardens
Ranked #31 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great menu”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here half expecting the standard "bagged" Chinese food and were pleasantly surprised. Great menu and very authentic taste, not at all what other "Chinese" restaurants serve.

We had great service even though they were quite busy. The menu offered a good variety of tastes and nothing was too pricey. We had a seafood delight, chicken with garlic and something called Phoenix and Dragon. All were excellent.

Easy to find in a busy shopping center on Main and Drake. Make it a stop. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    11
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good atmosphere, reasonable”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We always enjoy eating here and are always torn between having what we have had in the past that we love, or trying something new and different. Good food, good prices!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimmerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High quality”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I've been to so many other Chinese restaurants in town, and they always taste like they used canned broth and canned meat. This food is high quality and one of our favorite places to eat. The kung pao chicken and double cooked pork are my favorites, but my kids love the beef lo mein and veggie fried rice. We usually take out, but dining in adds some extra touches, such as fried wontons with sweet dipping sauce and finishing off with shots of fruit smoothies. Always excellent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CliffofCliffwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great food, green tea was good as was cashew chicken. Best chinese in Portage/ Paw Paw/ Kzoo area, much better than chin chins

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeghanT611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best traditional Chinese in town”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've been to Hunan Gardens many times (as well as its partner restaurant on Q Ave in Texas Township). The food is mostly standard Chinese restaurant fare, but definitely better quality than you will find at most places. The ingredients are fresher, often using local and seasonal ingredients. For example, last night our Empress Chicken dish had great helpings of fresh zucchini and summer squash instead of just the standard slices of carrots, celery, water chestnuts, etc. They will vary the heat on their spicy dishes. Their wonton soup is just okay--standard clear chicken broth with good wontons, but light on other ingredients like green onions etc.
Seriously consider their specials, we have had outstanding ones, such as a mango dish that was really innovative and delicious.
There are some inconsistencies--their eggrolls range in quality, sometimes being clearly freshly made and other times tasting old. Their eggroll dipping sauce is sometimes standard duck sauce, but other times is a kind of apple-based concoction

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterw389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Gardens also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Hunan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing