We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I have stayed at this Red Roof many times. The staff is great, especially Craig. I have watched him work and he is friendly and helpful to all the guests. This is a great place to stay when you don't want to waste your money on things you don't need or won't use (swimming pools, fitness rooms, etc.) Although they don't offer breakfast, there is fantastic coffee available for free in the lobby 24/7. The building is relatively new and it is well-maintained and clean. I particularly enjoy the larger all-inclusive king-sized rooms, which include a lot more space, an office chair and work station, a microfridge, etc. I also like the location. It's a safe area of town not too close to downtown and the university but not too far away either. Honestly, I would have no reason to want to stay at any other hotel in the area. ...Review by Richard (graduate student at Western Michigan, originally from Natchez, Mississippi)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcademicDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 366 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

When I entered the room it was stale. Then I determined it smelled like feet. The fixtures and furniture were fine but the room was just plain dirty.

There were several hairs in the tub, and not just from someone's head. There was a corn chip on the floor under the air conditioning unit.

The bed had dingy yellow sheets that were so thin I could see a blood stain on the mattress cover bellow.

There was no blow-dryer or coffee pot in the room. This would have been a decent room if only someone had cleaned it and removed the stained mattress cover, and put on some clean crisp sheets.

I was so exhausted from traveling in the car all day I did not demand a refund but I can tell you I will avoid Red Roof Inns in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cresmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I had a one night stay at the Red Roof Inn in Kalamazoo, MI. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The floor, the bathroom and the beds were are very clean and tidy. The sheets and blanket were really nice. There was plenty of lighting in the room. I appreciated the free WiFi. The rate was TERRIFIC.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appleteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The hotel room is decent looking,the bathroom is quite small and the sink is OUTSIDE the bathroom. Ample parking. Craig was absolutely wonderful. From the second we came through the door he was happy and very welcoming. He will provide you with anything you need. I lost my charger or left it at home,and craig actually had a whole box full of chargers and GAVE me the charger,I wasn't expected that,it was great.Besides the people that seem to stay here for permanent residency,it is an okay hotel. It's cheap. I wouldn't recommend a week or anything,but for 1 or 2 days,it's just fine. Plus its right down the street from the university and right off the highway!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmustudent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed at the Red Roof during a recent 6 month training course in Kalamazoo. Its location was close to two major crossroads in town that allowed for quick access. The staff was great, especially Craig, who was always willing to help check me in and out around my revolving schedule. The room was what is expected from a value hotel, but had the perks of being quiet, free wireless high speed and a great 24hr free coffee station.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck2hef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Craig, the front desk trainer at our Red Roof Inn saved the day. My wife had booked one night for three week ends at the Red Roof Inn through Expedia. When we arrived at the hotel the desk had no record of our reservation for this weekend or the next two! Craig, who was working the desk, got right on the phone with expedia. He worked with us and the expedia people to get the snag worked out. Craig's assistance to us was supportive, prompt, polite, and thorough. He got the expedia snag worked out and then got us reserved for the next two weekends. No doubt about it - Craig saved the day! We will definitely book at this Red Roof Inn as long as the staff are as helpful and friendly as Craig was! Thanks, Craig!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spindr2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Craig and the staff do a good job of making your stay pleasant. If you have to travel for extended periods and work from the road you could do a lot worse for your money. I am here for two months and would recommend this hotel to my brothers in the trade unions.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#15 of 31 in Kalamazoo
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $62 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing