We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“craig was so helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we stayed there this past weekend and craig told us all the places we needed to go even gave us maps and marked them out for us first class guy.he should be up for promotion hes that good and very kind. he has helped me out in the past by printing off maps and giving me places to go like the donut place thats awesome down the road. room should have 4 towels in is my only complaint but they will give you more if you ask. I will be staying there again so it was a nice area to stay in close to most things you need.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that Craig provided

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've slept in worse hotels, but it really could have used a cleaning. There was dirt and hair all along the floorboard. The "white" sheets you could see stains in. I'm not sure if I brought the three bugs I saw during my stay in with the food that I brought in but I did see bugs. I think that's worth noting.

Besides that the people at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. It was a great location off the highway. The bed was comfortable (minus my fear of bugs). It was a safe location my car packed with stuff made it through the night. The check out is 12pm which is rather nice.

It was overall you pay what you get for. Are there cleaner hotels? I'm sure. But I'm also sure it'd cost you 20-30 more dollars to get them so if you don't mind a little dirt..maybe bring your own blanket? I mean I was just paying for a place to crash and a roof over my head to keep me safe. Which is exactly what I got.

If anyone from Red Roof reads this, your coffee is terrible. Please find better coffee sources. :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations in relation to our team handling you needs as a guest. I apologize you did not have a similar experience in your impression of the room appearance.

We strive to provide a clean and safe environment for all of guests and we will work to ensure the level of the room experience matches the level of the guest experience. I hope we can show a great overall experience the next time you are visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We walked in, the room was dirty and smelled like smoke, very stale smoke. Walked out to the parking lot, there is a used condom laying in the parking lot. My husband went and complained and they said they had one room left. Because of our tight schedule, we didn't have time to switch. Upon checking out in the morning, again we complained. The clerk said they would take $30.00 off of our room. Come to find out they have charged the whole amount to our credit card saying we had an opportunity to change rooms. We are disputing it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I apologize for your experience at our inn. Not only is our goal to provide a nice place for a nice price to all our guests but we strive to achieve a level of safety and cleanliness that exceeds all of our guest’s expectations. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I apologize are attempts to correct your experience did not leave you with a better overall experience that we hope for. We would love for the chance to show you a great experience the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just right with pets. The front desk (Brittany & Jenn) were excellent. They always had a smile on their face. Great place to stay. The building is older but understandable. The rooms were updated with new tv's. Room smelled clean. Not enough towels but front desk accommodated.
Will stay again

Room Tip: Good place for a night stay with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the customer service that Jenn and Brittany provided.

I will make sure to share your comments with Jenn, Brittany and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are very happy that we were able to make you and your pets stay an enjoyable one.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Found a used condom in the trash can when I checked into my room in the trash can. Also when I checked they would only give me 2 double beds because I booked on hotwire. The place is run down, staff rude and the inconvenience of having to go to near the front office every time for ice makes it a place I will never stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ester999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests.

I apologize for the experience that you had at our inn. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and provide a clean and safe environment. I have reminded my team of this and our procedures for preparing a room for a guests arrival. I hope you will give us another opportunity to not only meet but exceed your expectations the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Clean, quiet, modern room - just what we needed after a long days drive to get ready for the next long days drive. Beds were comfortable. Towels were soft compared to other similarly priced hotels. Location was close to the highway and in a nice part of town. We had stayed at the other Red Roof in Kalamazoo on a previous road trip - and this location is much nicer/newer. Staff were friendly and gave excellent directions. Thanks Sharon.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you have trouble with stairs or a lot of stuff to carry in or out get a...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 72cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service that you received.

I will make sure to share your comments with Sharon and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

While checking in my 13 year old daughter overheard the front desk staff take a phone call who said "just don't let him in your room". That made her frightened that someone would try to break into our room. Then when we got to our room, it smelled. Then there was the issue of no toilet paper. After trying to phone the front desk 3 times we walked down there. The front desk told us he had to shut down the building to get us some after he finished checking in another guest. Good thing we weren't in a toilet paper emergency and could wait. I wonder if we will ever get our toilet paper. The bed was dirty and had hair in it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations. I am also sorry that your daughter was frightened. Please now that guest security and guest service are top priorities at our property. Please know that I will review these comments with my staff and that we will work hard to make sure that future occurrences such as this do not happen in the future.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and it would be my hope that you might give us another chance in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East - Expo Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 32 in Kalamazoo
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $55 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing