We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST DISGUSTING PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MOST DISGUSTING PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We walked in, the room was dirty and smelled like smoke, very stale smoke. Walked out to the parking lot, there is a used condom laying in the parking lot. My husband went and complained and they said they had one room left. Because of our tight schedule, we didn't have time to switch. Upon checking out in the morning, again we complained. The clerk said they would take $30.00 off of our room. Come to find out they have charged the whole amount to our credit card saying we had an opportunity to change rooms. We are disputing it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I apologize for your experience at our inn. Not only is our goal to provide a nice place for a nice price to all our guests but we strive to achieve a level of safety and cleanliness that exceeds all of our guest’s expectations. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I apologize are attempts to correct your experience did not leave you with a better overall experience that we hope for. We would love for the chance to show you a great experience the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    91
    41
    21
    36
See reviews for
96
55
60
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just right with pets. The front desk (Brittany & Jenn) were excellent. They always had a smile on their face. Great place to stay. The building is older but understandable. The rooms were updated with new tv's. Room smelled clean. Not enough towels but front desk accommodated.
Will stay again

Room Tip: Good place for a night stay with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the customer service that Jenn and Brittany provided.

I will make sure to share your comments with Jenn, Brittany and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are very happy that we were able to make you and your pets stay an enjoyable one.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Found a used condom in the trash can when I checked into my room in the trash can. Also when I checked they would only give me 2 double beds because I booked on hotwire. The place is run down, staff rude and the inconvenience of having to go to near the front office every time for ice makes it a place I will never stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ester999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests.

I apologize for the experience that you had at our inn. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and provide a clean and safe environment. I have reminded my team of this and our procedures for preparing a room for a guests arrival. I hope you will give us another opportunity to not only meet but exceed your expectations the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Clean, quiet, modern room - just what we needed after a long days drive to get ready for the next long days drive. Beds were comfortable. Towels were soft compared to other similarly priced hotels. Location was close to the highway and in a nice part of town. We had stayed at the other Red Roof in Kalamazoo on a previous road trip - and this location is much nicer/newer. Staff were friendly and gave excellent directions. Thanks Sharon.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you have trouble with stairs or a lot of stuff to carry in or out get a...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 72cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service that you received.

I will make sure to share your comments with Sharon and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

While checking in my 13 year old daughter overheard the front desk staff take a phone call who said "just don't let him in your room". That made her frightened that someone would try to break into our room. Then when we got to our room, it smelled. Then there was the issue of no toilet paper. After trying to phone the front desk 3 times we walked down there. The front desk told us he had to shut down the building to get us some after he finished checking in another guest. Good thing we weren't in a toilet paper emergency and could wait. I wonder if we will ever get our toilet paper. The bed was dirty and had hair in it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations. I am also sorry that your daughter was frightened. Please now that guest security and guest service are top priorities at our property. Please know that I will review these comments with my staff and that we will work hard to make sure that future occurrences such as this do not happen in the future.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and it would be my hope that you might give us another chance in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This Red Roof Inn is by far the best of the many places I have stayed.It is unusually clean, well appointed, unusual friendly staff and eager to help.They even graciously kept my Freez Pak's in their freezer till I departed. It is also a perfect location not only to the city of Kazoo but also
ideal to U.S.131. Craig and Brittany couldn't have been more helpful with information I needed.
AND it is very quiet !!Than you Red Roof.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service that you received and that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms.

I will make sure to share your comments with Brittany, Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is spotless, well maintained, and pet friendly. Carig the manager provided excellent service as did his entire staff. This is a good choice when visiting Kalamazoo.

It is also a short distance from the Kal-Haven trail. A good place to ride your bicycle or just to take an evening stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service that you received and our clean and well maintained rooms.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.3 mi away
Value Place Kalamazoo
Value Place Kalamazoo
#14 of 31 in Kalamazoo
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Property: Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing