We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Coopersville
1 review
“Business Trip Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Craig is an excellent employee, always friendly, always helpful, always respectful, Motel is always clean and pleasant to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tillyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig, our housekeeping staff and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome and appreciated.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    88
    40
    20
    36
See reviews for
95
53
59
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East China MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The room was clean, the bed comfortable (even my dog slept all night). The front desk staff particularly Craig was great. The other staff that I met in passing were pleasant and I enjoyed my stay. I hope they think about more tv channels in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am happy to hear that your pet enjoyed their stay as well

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've stayed at this Red Roof over the years and it used to be rather sad. Its most recent renewal, however, is a pleasant surprise. The beds are comfortable, the bath, although not fancy, has a wonderful shower; in-room amenities aren't great, but certainly more than average for this town and price.
Front desk staff, both day and night, are very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.
Room service is good, though a bit more attention to used-up things (like tea and sugar) would have been nice.
It's worth the money to upgrade to the superior king, and, done online, it's not that muh more

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our superior king room.

I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mio, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have been staying at this Red Roof since 1999. The rooms are always very clean and another reason we like this one and the one on the eastside is because of Craig. His has excellent customer service skills. If there is ever a problem he takes care of it right away. He is always friendly and helpful. He is the best!

Room Tip: If you want a business king rooms 125 and 127 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled that you choose us when you stay in Kalamazoo.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

My room was satisfactory: very spacious, two beds (very ok), a large desk, free Wi-Fi, small, clean bathroom, a sink area in the room, good tv (but not much choice of programmes). Sheets clean, but blanket rudimentary. A/C was loud, but in good working order. Room mostly clean (but lots of crumbs under the bed...).
Extremely friendly hotel staff at front desk, very helpful. One desk chair and one easy chair maybe not enough to merit a 'very good', but considering the very attractive rate (and, being there for the Medieval Congress, considering the alternative at the dorms) a very good option. However, Europeans beware: if you are travelling for the Congress without a car, there is only limited shuttle service and taxis tend to be on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Try a room facing away from the Interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that your enjoyed the service that was provided by our staff. We also hope that your conference was a great success.

I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve..

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We went to Kalamazoo for a high school state wide compitition and were looking for rooms that wouldn't kill the program's budget. I looked over the evaluations of the hotels falling into this category and the Red Room had the best evaluations. They were right. Craig did a great job of taking care of our needs and helping us in every way he could. The rooms were nice,the bathrooms very clean, and the flat screen TVs were a bonus. My room had a slight smell to it the first night but it was better by the second. The whole complex was quiet, allowing me to sleep well both nights. Thanks Craig!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post an outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that you were pleased with the service that you received. I am happy to hear as well that you enjoyed our new flat screen televisions.

I will make sure to share your comments with Craig and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It was our pleasure having you and your group as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed at the Roof recently and had a great stay. Clean room, huge flat screen tv, and friendly staff. Everything worked and even had a fridge, microwave, and safe in the room. I stayed at another hotel in the area that cost 3 times more and it wasn't as good as this Red Roof. Good job to Scott, Sharon, and Diane!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwingdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnortham, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our new flat screen televisions and our superior king room.

I will make sure to share your comments with Scott, Sharon, Diane and the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.0 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Property: Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing