We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great job Holiday Inn Express team. My family asked me find a hotel where we all could stay to attend a family gathering in K'zoo. It started out 3 rooms one night, turned out up to 5 rooms, three nights. My family is hard to please at times. I did not hear one complaint. Clean rooms, warm clean pool, comfy beds, great service from the staff, (thanks for everything Angel), breakfast fresh and up to date exercise equipment. The one suggestion may be a hot tub spa. My 9 year old daughter asked when we can stay again at this hotel. We will stay again when in K'zoo.

Room Tip: Always check out the price difference for the suite, worth a couple extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank You so much Robert B for taking the time to talk so highly of our property & and team members. We are pleased to know we could accommodate you and your family so comfortably, especially when the kids are comfortable and enjoying themselves we know we did something right. Thank you again and we will be looking forward to your next journey to K'zoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    59
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
60
31
8
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
359 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this holiday inn express for business , 2 nights . It's been over a year since I visited this location. I was pleasantly surprised with the new carpet and furniture in rooms. Bathroom had new fixtures and lighting which was a complaint before. Breakfast was ok, typical for HIX. People were friendly and gave a complimentary up grade room for gold member status which was a nice amenitiy. Close to shops and restaurants , would recommend and will come again !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our improvements of our property. We appreciate your loyalty as a Gold Priority Club Member and being a returning guest, we look forward to having you back the next time you are in Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed the recent 2 nights in the hotel. The room was particularly quiet, roomy and comfortable. The service was attentive and efficient. The free breakfast was largely similar to all others of the same type and quite acceptable. The road in was somewhat hard to find but turned out to be quite worth the hunt. The resturant accross the parking lot was, as recommended by the staff, quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank You kindly for your review, we are pleased to hear that it was worth the hunt. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again the next time you are in Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not bad but overpriced for what you get.
The room was clean, but the beds were so low that I felt like a giant (@ 5'6"). They weren't all that comfortable either.
My biggest complaint is breakfast. First, it ends at 9:30 on a Sunday which I find ridiculously early. Second, when we went down at 9:00 almost everything was empty. After waiting quite a while, only a few things were replenished. It was a big disappointment.
The location was perfect since we were going to Wings Stadium, but next time we will try a different hotel in that area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We do apologize about your last stay with us and have submitted your review to management, we are considering modifying our breakfast times on the weekends. We do hope you will give us another try next time you are in Kalamazoo and Thank you sincerely for your feedback it has been taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel right after a major snow storm, but had no trouble with area roads or the parking lot. The third floor room was roomy and very clean, with good water pressure and temperature. We could hear the highway noises (just the trucks), but it was very faint and didn't bother us at all. The front desk clerk was very friendly when we checked in. The breakfast buffet the next morning was great (especially the cinnamon rolls!), and the area was kept clean and filled. Our child loved the fresh pancakes, and I enjoyed the large windows over-looking the clean, fresh snow. The sun coming in was refreshing in February! Check out was quick and friendly. We would stay here again when in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are pleased to know we could accommodate you and your family so comfortably, that is our goal. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay, our staff and our facilites, we look forward to being able to accomodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
356 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I booked the hotel late in the day, and was not able to get a room facing away from the noisy I94 highway. My mistake; even with the heater fan on hi, I could hear the non stop traffic on the third floor. It would have been a nice stay if I was on the other side of the hotel. The staff was nice and suggested a place to eat. The breakfast area was very nice and had an above average selection.
I'll find a quieter place next time.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to compliment our staff, I do apologize we were not able to accommodate you to the opposite side of the highway. We hope next time you are in kalamazoo you will stay with us again and request opposite side of highway when booking, Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay in Kalamazoo 2-3 times a year and tried this hotel for our latest visit. We had a nice experience from beginning to end. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly. Our room was ready early, but it was facing the highway and next to the elevator. The front desk immediately moved us to another available room - thanks, Jennifer!

The room was a good size for a family of three, clean and the water pressure good. The hotel was in the middle of switching out furniture - the 3rd floor was completely done, so no problem for us.

The indoor pool was, by far, the warmest we have experienced. The pool is small and only goes to 5 feet, but it was still great for us.

The breakfast was what you expect with HIExpress: good options, both hot and cold. The eating area was spacious and very clean.

We will stay here again on our next trip to Kalamazoo/WMU. Go Broncos!

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor, opposite side of the highway - quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review in regards to your stay with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to accommodate you so comfortably. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future, Let's hear it for WMU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 3630 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing