We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service by front desk girl, Angie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great service by front desk girl, Angie”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

She was very kind and helpful from the beginning. We later had a problem with the sheets needing to be changed. I called the front desk and explained my situation to Angie and not 5 minutes later she was at the door with ALL fresh linens for the bed. She had that bed made in 5 minutes, even to my Mothers satisfaction. She smiled all the way through the process and is a GREAT asset to your staff. Kudos to you for having such a fine young woman to work for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for expressing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I have shared this review with staff and have made sure the employee mentioned has received praise for a job well done! Thanks once again and we look forward to accommodating you and your mother for any future stays to Kalamazoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    59
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
61
32
8
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metamora, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Néeded a place to stay off interstate and a room was available. We stay approximately at 6 hotels a year and this was probably the most unkept hotel, at least in the rooms. Dirty light switch, hair dryer, shower head, needs to be dusted, and saw mattresses are dirty when checking for bugs. No bugs - so we stayed. I cleaned the shower and light switches.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amylapoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We take great pride in making sure our hotel is clean, comfortable and that our guests can relax as well as be themselves and feel at home. Your feedback has been shared with the Executive housekeepers and the issues will be taken care of immediately! Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide this constructive criticism and we hope to accommodate you and share our improvements with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lucked out in finding a room here during a very busy weekend in town, every hotel was completely booked for miles due to the Great Lakes Invitational Lacrosse tourney. A change visit to trip advisor two days prior to leaving scored us a room here, so happy as the alternative was less than ideal... Hotel was clean and comfortable, with a great breakfast buffet, pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, along with cereal, toast, bagels, yogurt and fruit. Front desk staff were very accommodating in providing directions, super fast check in/out. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if ever in town again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo on TripAdvisor! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accommodating you for any future trips you may make to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this property, and would recommend it. The staff was very nice, and our room was clean and comfortable. It was very quiet, and we got a good night's sleep. We missed the breakfast, but imagine it was good for a free breakfast, as H.I. Expresses always are. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Kalamazoo.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
On behalf of all staff at the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo, thank you! We appreciate the kind feedback and love reading posts like this one. It is positive reinforcement for the staff to keep doing what they do best, and that is provide above and beyond customer service. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Holiday Inn Experss was choosen on the fly while we were traveling in Michagan.
We just walked in and were able to obtain a resaonable rate at the desk.
The room was not spacious but was large, well decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful as we requested the location of various sights and resturants. We were give maps and directions. The breakfast buffet was well stocked, had a little of everything and was kept neat and clean. We used the fitness room but not the pool.
Overall the stay was comfortable and restorative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
On behalf of all staff, thank you! It is wonderful to read reviews like this one because it shows that our consistent efforts do not go without notice. Comfort and cleanliness are our top priorities here at the Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo. Thanks again for taking time out of your day to help make that known.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My complaints regard the hotel's location, but the helpfulness of the staff was a definite redeeming quality. The building is near a highway, but the staff kindly accommodated my request for a room on the other side of the building, which proved to be noiseless.

No ATM but staff will direct you to another hotel just across the parking lot.

Staff worked with me for late check out at no cost. As I had no where to go until the evening, I later succeeded getting a partial-night rate to stay until 8pm.

Standard, no-frills complimentary breakfast. Good hot coffee was available all day in the dining area.

King-bed rooms here are substantially larger than king rooms of several less remote Holiday Inns I've stayed in. My living space was clean and comfortable.

The friendliness and will to help of the front desk ladies have guaranteed I'll stay here next time I visit Kalamazoo.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We do our best to specially prepare each room prior to our guest arrival as well as make them feel as comfortable as possible while they are here. A huge thank you for taking the time out of your day to publicly acknowledge our efforts. Holiday Inn Express of Kalamazoo strives to be at the heart of everything we do and will settle for nothing less than to be considered a "Great Hotel that Guest Love".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was for business, the room was clean and very comfortable. I wish all the rooms had microwave and refrigerators. My only complaint is after being allowed to have an extension on check out, housekeeping constantly knocked on my door at 9.30am. And on top of that a lady kept yelling laundry loudly up and down the hall. My final issue came when another housekeeper tried to force her way into my room,with her key. I finally had to get out of bed at 9.50am and tell them I was in my room still and even had an extension to check out at 1pm. Now keep in mind all this took place way before there normal checkout time of 12 noon. I was upset and left before 11 am. I wish they would at least honor there own checkout time,before harrassing you to leave.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBaker041484, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. As the General Manager at this property I take full responsibility to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. I have shared this review with staff and we, as a whole, would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience posed during your stay.

Once again, Thank you and we hope to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
3.5 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 3630 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
#9 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only minutes from downtown, K-Wings Stadium, Kalamazoo County Expo Center and Fairgrounds as well as the awesome full-motion flight simulators at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. All our guests enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Enjoy warm buttermilk biscuits, one fluffy egg selection, sizzling meat selections, and our trademark mouth-watering cinnamon rolls. Don't forget our one of a kind pancake machine and multiple healthy start options such as yogurt and oatmeal. Our spacious guest rooms feature access to Charter Cable with many HD channels including HBO for your viewing pleasure. We offer free and fast Internet as well as 24 hour access to our business center. Businesses near hotel: Eaton, Consumers Energy, Stryker, Pfizer, as well as Bronson and Borgess Medical Centers. Attractions near hotel: Firekeeper's Casino, The Miller Auditorium, The Crossroads Mall, Kalamazoo County Fairgrounds, Air Zoo, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts, Kalamazoo Valley Museum, Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kalamazoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing