We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!”

Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
Ranked #6 of 338 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Kalamazoo Beer Exchange is a two-story multi-tap bar and grill located in the beautifully restored Globe Building in downtown Kalamazoo. Offering 28 rotating draught beers from around the world, The Exchange opens at 6 p.m., where draught beers are priced on real-time sales, like the stock market. Occasional "market crashes" drop beer prices to their all-time low. The food menu features pub fare with a twist, where classic dishes will be made new again.
Paris
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The craft beer selection is great (plus they have a delish hard-rootbeer for non beer drinkers). At unknown times, there's a loud crashing sound throughout the place and the beer prices drop (like the stock market). It's fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank romerome22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    88
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kalamazoo -who knew???”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

What fun! Why don't they have these Beer exchanges all over U.S.??? Novel idea. Paid three different prices for my Bell's Oberon - $5.00, $4.50 and $2.50 (when the market "crashed"). Can't remember what I ate, but think it was good!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique Beer Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you want to play the beer market and get some good brew deals, this is the place for you.. Creative concept of beer prices depending on demand. Prices go up or down every 15 minutes, with an occasional "market crash." Great selection of local and other brews.
We had a large group that didn't all come at the same time and they were able to provide great .
The menu is better than the usual bar fare. Great choices and good food...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oscargoKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Concept”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

KBE has one of the most unique ways of pricing their beer. We came from out of town and went to KBE for drinks only. We got there right when the "beer market" crashed and had to make quick decisions as to what to try. So much fun, my only regret was that we were there for about 1.5 hours and the beer market didn't crash again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank EddieSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
253 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“My Friends Loved This Place And Enjoyed It!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Okay this will be a weird review in that I was on a trip with my friends, but I didn't get to visit this place as I wasn't feeling well that night. However they raved about it so I feel I should share their impressions. They loved the fact the price of a beer could change based on demand. Several of my friends have M.B.A.s so they intentionally bought a dozen of one type of beer and watch the price change later. After some time you would have a market crash and the beer prices would go down. The good news is the princes never get too high and it never gets too low.

Aside from the marketing gimmick, while cool, is the fact they have a wide selection of beers. My friends were able to get beers that aren't very common.

The next time I'm in Kalamazoo I'm hitting this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianD317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamazoo Beer Exchange also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Kalamazoo Beer Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing