We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangia Mangia

Mangia Mangia
Ranked #39 of 336 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mangia Mangia brings you a tradition in Italian food that's traveled the world and spanned several generations. We offer recipes born out of old-world traditions and prepared with expert care, from Nonna Rosa's spaghetti sauce that's been in the family since 1936 and served to diners in West Michigan ever since, to new culinary creations presented with authentic style. Our restaurant's name comes from what any Italian grandmother would tell her family and guests at the dinner table. "Mangia, Mangia." Eat, eat! And enjoy. Click HERE to like Mangia Mangia on Facebook and see what's going on daily at your favorite local Italian restaurant!
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely time at Mangia Mangia. We started out with a cocktail and then had a nicely prepared side salad. We enjoyed a bottle of one of their Malbec's with our main meal, which was the assorted seafood and linguine dish. It was very good, we took home the left-overs, because we loved the sauce! Our server, Vivian, was very attentive, had an engaging smile and personality.
I do recommend eating here, while in Kalamazoo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TemPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baked Spaghetti!! What a concept!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love pasta... not doubt about it but this dish has truly won over my heart!

Mangia Mangia in downtown Kalamazoo is absolutely one of my favorite spots to go with family and friends! The consistently delicious food and friendly service never disappoints! And my son loves the "mocktails"!

Whether its a special occasion or a quick bite after running errands, Mangia Mangia is the place to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm sort of down on Italian fare. I chose this place because of the Monday night spaghetti and meatball special for $3.50. I was not disappointed. Outside dining was a plus. Service was friendly and punctual. The restaurant filled the bill! lol

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 452CraigS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old World Italian in Kalamazoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Okay, it's tough to find good Italian food in SW Michigan. Mangia Mangia is the best. I almost hate to make that statement, because I'm not a huge fan of their "mother ship" La Cantina in nearby Paw Paw. But Mangia Mangia is just that much better. Atmosphere is contemporary urban, right on the Kzo Mall. Extensive martini menu & wine list. Tender bread from a local bakery. Full range of traditional Sicilian, veal, pastas, and Northern Italian. The baked spaghetti is ramped up with Alfredo sauce on the bottom so it was not dry. Meatballs are huge! Sausage is authentic Italian. The pasta Emilio is extraordinarily good.

The bar is near the pedestrian mall-good people watching. Quieter and more private seats are toward the back. More bathrooms toward the rear. Serious distraction is the single-person only bathrooms immediately off the hostess stand. They try to disguise it, but people lined up waiting for a table are TOO CLOSE to those bathrooms.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RockTIlUDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Late Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice selection, high quality, relaxed setting. Great home made bread, friendly staff. Seating available inside and out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Mangia also viewed

 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Mangia Mangia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing