We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Michigan-made beer.”

Bell's Eccentric Cafe
Ranked #2 of 341 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cafe, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan, the Eccentric Cafe, located next to the Bell's General Store, is home to a unique offering of craft beer, live music, entertainment, delicious food and more.Any given time, we have between 20 and 40 different beers on tap. Many are exclusive to the Cafe and are brewed right next door at our original brewery - just look for the yellow tags on the Draft Board when you visit.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Michigan-made beer.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This review is for the gift shop/brew/beer store part.
Great beer, especially the hearty stouts which are well-suited to the Kalamazoo water, so am told. Store has full selection of Bell's beer plus plenty of home brew supplies and knowledgeable friendly staff. Didn't eat at the restaurant, but looked inside and it had that pleasantly quirky air that's distinctly Kzoo.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruits-Basket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    182
    59
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Visited - July 2012. Live in NC and made a point to stay in area to go to Bells Taproom and Eccentric Cafe. Went on a Sunday evening and had our 10yr old with us. We had to be out by 8pm because we had our son with us. Beer was great, food was good, would not go back, but will continue to purchase this great beer...in bottles from our local distributor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelrncdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beer - okay establishment.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Great beer. Okay food. Fun atmosphere. Okay service. Steep prices. And, they still ask for a tip on the receipt.

Must try: stout, amber ale, two hearted ale. Avoid: pretzel plate and cherry stout

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Finally found it!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have visited the Bell's Gift Shop on many occasions, but have never ventured far enough around the building to locate the restaurant. :) keep walking, it is worth the stop! Onsite parking is available now that I know where I am going.

The area is currently under road construction (Sept 2012) so be prepared for the detour around the railroad crossings in the area.

No table service, but ordering/pickup is simple once you 'know the drill'. Staff was eager to assist the newbies.

The decor is well done and the crowd was typical for a weekday early evening bar.

We split a couple appetizers and called it dinner. The three meat sampler was very tasty and showcased the talent of the grillmaster. Portions were large with takeout boxes available.

I am not a big beer fan, but did enjoy an Oberon simply because I was in Kalamazoo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a brew pub should be!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good beer, a decent lunch menu (just make sure you aren't in a hurry), roomy, eclectic decor, a beer garden (complete with hops vines) and a store that sells both brewery wares and home brewing supplies. This place is everything a brew-pub should be. They also have a cask available on weekends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Eccentric Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bell's Eccentric Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing