We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, great atmosphere”

Bell's Eccentric Cafe
Ranked #2 of 340 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cafe, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in beautiful downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan, the Eccentric Cafe, located next to the Bell's General Store, is home to a unique offering of craft beer, live music, entertainment, delicious food and more.Any given time, we have between 20 and 40 different beers on tap. Many are exclusive to the Cafe and are brewed right next door at our original brewery - just look for the yellow tags on the Draft Board when you visit.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beer, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Out standing selection of beer, much of which you can only get at this location. Great atmosphere inside and out. Food was up and down. Some items were great (tempeh teriyaki, french dip), others not so great (pretzel plate). Service was not so great either. I ordered appetizers first. 30 minutes later ordered sandwiches. The appetizers arrived about 3 minutes before the sandwiches.

Menu is very veggie friendly.

Still I would highly recommend this place for the outstanding beer, great sandwiches, and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PepeSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    179
    56
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ferkin Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

One of the best. Whilst on my beercation of a lifetime I visited Bells. The beer is second to very few in the world. The building is awesome, the overall atmosphere is first class and rivals the breweries in San Diego for friendliness and ambience. We did not sample the food, but they were doing a brisk trade, so I would imagine the food must be good. If you like good beer, and are in Kalamazoo give it a visit.

Helpful?
Thank jollyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome beer and good atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

on our Michigan brew trip, Bell's was one of our highest-rated. There wasn't a beer we tried that we didn't love - see if they have the Cherry Stout on tap for an extra treat. We didn't eat there but the menu looked great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honest food, great beer.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I live about 10 miles down the road, and cannot manage to get to Bell's often enough. Wonderful selection of award winning beers, with a few tasty limited production selections thrown in. Child friendly during the day. Good honest bar food. A great place to hang. Great evening musical entertainment, gets a little crowded though. The backyard party space is a real treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JhawkerMattawan_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The source of one of my favorite ales - Two Hearted.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great ambiance; good food; great beer! Special brews available on tap that you will not see elsewhere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BPinMEFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Eccentric Cafe also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Bell's Eccentric Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing