We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I called and asked a few questions, the staff was totally understanding and accomodating with me. You can't find a better place to stay to make you feel like you are in a small apartment. blah blah blah blah, enough yet?

Room Tip: Top floor is always the quietest. Far enough from the highway to not hear traffic. I am a day slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDFindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We whole-heartedly appreciate your heartfelt comments! It brings us no greater joy than for our guests to tell us that we made them feel at home! Honestly, this is the whole spirt of hospitality and the very reason why we open our doors each day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! It is our privilege to serve you.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
18
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are large and comfortable. I have used this property in the past and have been very pleased. It has a small pantry and does not provide breakfast. The staff has always been attentive and responsive. The desk space will handle a lap top and small portable printer, makes conducting business easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and also delighted that you were pleased with our staff! Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites in Kalamazoo, and we hope to see you again soon!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I enjoyed my room, the friendly individual that was so helpful. Candlewood had the necessary items I needed to make my stay very enjoyable. I would and already have recommended Candlewood to a couple of friends. Yes, I would look forward to my traveling and know where I would first inquiry. This was first time as a guest, may I reassure you that it won't be a last.

Thank you again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
On behalf of our entire Candlewood team --- many thanks for your kind words! Our aim is to ensure that EVERY guest enjoys EVERY stay, EVERY day. We are happy that you did! Also, we thank you for recommending us to your friends. Please visit us again on your next visit to Kalamazoo!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Convenient location, close to highway exits yet very quiet. We enjoyed our room while visiting family in Kalamazoo. Very clean and comfortable. We've stayed here in the past and enjoy the comfort and layout of the rooms. We even were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a one bedroom suite but declined as we found the room we had was more than ample for our two-day stay. I especially liked the room darkening shades to block out the light as I am sensitive to light when sleeping.

Room Tip: These suites are nice enough for extended stays while vacationing in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jet42469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We are happy to have been able to accommodate you during the visit with your family! Please stay with us again on your next trip to Kalamazoo. Your Candlewood "family" thanks you!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Truly up to the high standards of the Candlewood chain: extremely clean, and a perfect little kitchen with full-size fridge. We liked it's quiet location, especially being so near to I-94.
The gentleman who checked us in was very nice and had a witty reply to my question when I asked what time they rolled-out the breakfast buffet: he said that their breakfast sandwiches (from their lobby pantry) are available 24x7 and are very tasty when microwaved by us up in our room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwilaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are pleased and delighted that you were happy with your accommodations and with the "witty reply" of our Guest Services Associate (Michael)! When I shared your cheerful comments with him ..... that gave him such a chuckle and made his day! Our entire Candlewood family thanks you for your stay!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Convenient to the interstate on the outskirts of Kalamazoo. Designed for the business traveler staying for multiple nights - more than ample kitchen, huge work desk. Leather recliner a nice touch. Clean, comfortable, quiet accommodations.

Be aware that daily housekeeping service is spartan by design - you're asked to swap out towels and linens at the front desk if you desire fresh outside of the weekly or post departure full cleaning. No pool, indoor or outdoor. Non pedestrian friendly location, you'll need to drive for restaurants, groceries, etc. Small pantry off the lobby with some grocery and breakfast items for purchase. Families with kids would be better served with another hotel serving breakfast, having a pool, etc. but a very serviceable hotel for the multi-night business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeRivers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks so very much for your response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your accommodations. We are happy to we fit your hotel needs! Thanks again for staying and please visit us again should you return to Kalamazoo.

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Kalamazoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently, my family and I stayed at this hotel after having to stop over in Kalamazoo for a bit. It's tucked away in a quiet area, and is so clean and modern. I could get a peaceful night's sleep without the loud noise of the city. The laundry facilities are convenient and clean, and the work-out room was filled with state-of-the-art equipment. Since I like the temperature to be extra cold in my room, Debbie Mahone, the General Manager, moved us to another room right away without a problem and made sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay a comfortable one. The customer service and friendliness of the General Manager and staff here are excellent; without question. Everyone at this hotel treated us like family. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiem12, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We genuinely appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us, and we are absolutely delighted that you are pleased with your stay! It is our hope that you continue to consider us an extension of home!!!

Debbie Mahone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
5.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo

Property: Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Address: 3443 Retail Place Dr, Kalamazoo, MI 49048-8819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
#4 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Extended Stay Hotel in Kalamazoo. Part of the IHG Holiday Inn Family so you get Priority Club Rewards Points for staying with us. We're centrally located right off I-94 exit 80 for Sprinkle Road. Each suite includes a full kitchen with everything you need to start cooking. Each suite also has a 32 inch flat screen TV, wired and wireless hi speed internet for free, free fitness and business center and free laundry facilities. Food and beverages available onsite in our Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing