We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elwood, United States
1 review
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was clean, comfortable, and enjoyable. The staff was very friendly. They printed directions to various places of interest so we would not get lost. The room's temperature was very comfortable. We loved the coffee, one cup at a time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy to hear that you found your room Clean and Comfortable. We know how important a clean environment is when your are away from home, and we are always glad to hear when we satisfy our guests. Thank you for mentioning the staff being helpful, this is very important feedback and I am glad they were able to provide you with the directions and information you needed.

We hope to see you again soon!

-Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    89
    54
    40
    27
See reviews for
127
62
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was truly a terrible hotel experience. Booked through Priceline so was stuck here 3 nights or lose money. No way would have stayed if booked directly. Overall this Hotel is in disrepair. Broken windows, ripped curtains, gross carpets, terrible smell, dirty and threadbare linens & towels. Old A/C units. Broken equipment in gym. (Someone is going to get injured)
Our room was VERY dirty including filthy shower curtain, shower not cleaned, dirty washcloth complete with pubic hair left hanging on rack. Kitchenette dirty - spilled food and coffee. Upon complaining to front desk was told cleaning staff had left but front desk guy would go remove dirty towel and he found a clean shower curtain for me to replace myself. In the end I used a container of Lysol wipes and spent a few hours cleaning the room myself. It's probably the cleanest room in the entire place now! On the second day of my stay the room was not serviced at all. When I complained I was told the cleaners for my floor had gone for the day. Yes - there were others still in the hotel but my room was not their job. What? Do not give these people who do not care your hard earned money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalamazoo hotels

Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I were in our hometown of Kalamazoo for a reunion with friends and found the BW ideally located. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the bed comfortable, and the room was clean. That's pretty much all I ask for along with a window I can open.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jerry D,

Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving such a positive review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we really appreciate your business. Thank you for your comments on our staff, we always try to be as attentive and polite as possible. A clean and comfortable room is what I look for during my travels, and we are glad to hear that is what you experienced with us.

I hope that your reunion went well, we look forward to seeing you again during your next visit back to your hometown of Kalamazoo!

Take Care,

Steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here at the last minute. Check in was smooth attendant wasn't overly friendly.

Upon arriving in our room there was a leftover cup with a straw on the counter. Went to pull out the pull out couch and although there was a sheet on it there was no blankets or pillows. We had to contact the front desk to retrieve those items. I opted to wear my sandals because the carpet had definitely seen better days and their were a lot of stains on it.

In the morning a HUGE beetle scurried across the floor. Which eh isn't uncommon for Michigan although it was pretty big!!

Continental breakfast had a waffle maker, sausage, eggs, French toast, yogurt, breads and of course coffee and juices and teas.

All in all I probably would not return to this hotel only because of the dirty cup, carpets, and bug.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the past 3 years. Overall it is a nice hotel, and I was very satisfied with my stay. Not centrally located (downtown), but still close enough. The elevator sounded like it needed some attention, but it got me to my desired floor. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank brianbZ9482UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Weekend Getaway,

Thank you for your nice review and comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that you have stayed with our hotel several times, and we look forward to having back as our guest in the near future.

Thanks Again!

-Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is located just a few minutes off of I94 and is easily accessible. I was surprised by the size of the room we stayed in as it is much larger than most. Beds are very comfortable. Hot tub and pool are decent and fitness center is just enough. Couldn’t have asked for anything more from a hotel for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHatto, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi KCee!

Thanks for taking your time to comment on our property, we appreciate your comments.

One of the biggest attractions of our guest suites is that they are all very spacious, and we are glad to hear that you found your clean and comfortable.

We hope to see you during your next visit to Kalamazoo.

Best Regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

old hotel that needs improvements. Toilet seat was broken and had no satisfaction getting it fixed. I feel more hands on from Best Western chain for these hotels, especially the Plus ones, should be done. Someone could have been really hurt falling from the toilet in that small bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank elleg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#17 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Address: 2575 S 11th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, a newly renovated all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator, and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy a delicious complimentary deluxe breakfast each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing