We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean rooms, falling apart rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean rooms, falling apart rooms”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Room was very clean and staff was wonderful, our suite had loose tiles in the kitchen area, making for dangerous walking. First day of check in, promised a full size refrigerator, had a dorm size, changed room. Bathroom sink would not drain, and shower curtain fell down numerous times. No place in shower to put shampoo, had to put bottle on floor, Toilet lid kept on falling off. Nasty note from housekeeper when we requested extra towels, felt very secure using grab bar in shower, loved that. Not very impressed, will not return. Beds were not the greatest to sleep in either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerlady42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    93
    58
    41
    29
See reviews for
149
65
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Overall....horrible experience! For starters, they don't offer discounts to law enforcement or emt/firefighters. The prices aren't too bad but the pet fee is a bit much. The worst part about our stay was the noise level. The structure of the building is obviously very old and has absolutely no sound barriers whatsoever. My husband and I drove 3 hours to Kalamazoo for a public safety officer test as part of the hiring process. This was a very crucial test and it was scheduled for early in the morning so we decided to drive in the night before so he could have plenty of rest before taking the test. It was the whole reason for staying in the hotel. The entire evening and overnight was awful. You could hear a mosquito fart 2 doors down, hell, you could practically smell it! The ceiling, the floor, all four walls were paper thin. The guests around, below, and above us weren't making any excessive noise at all but every move they made, every footstep, we heard it all and it sounded 10 times louder than it actually was. No joke, their footfalls would vibrate our room. There was nothing we could do. All rooms were booked as we were here on a weekend. In the morning during late checkout, we expressed very kindly how bad the experience was and no sympathy or compensation was offered to us for our troubles. A small discount would have been appropriate but they couldn't care less. We knew it wasn't their fault exactly but it is their responsibility to please every guest as best as they can and by not offering us anything at all, they failed miserably. I will not ever stay at this hotel again in the future and would not recommend it to anyone, unless you're ok with not sleeping at all.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel altogether!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Rooms are large with mini kitchen and couch. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. This most recent visit I noticed a lot of dead bugs in the bathroom light. Didn't notice this at all on our previous visit a couple months ago. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The rooms were very large, clean and nice and the beds were wonderfully soft. Breakfast had really good options, and the gentleman at the front desk was absolutely fantastic! We even had a girl get sick and vomit in the room and they switched us rooms in the middle of the night. (Those poor maids!) And the only disappointment in the entire experience was the pool area. The pool was ice cold and the hot tub too hot to get into and they were FILTHY. However the rest of the place was spotless and great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT HURON
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very Good - Breakfast was wonderful - Lots to choose. Front Desk Person very friendly and gave us directions to local playgrounds, grocery stores,restaurants, etc. Rooms were large - beds comfortable and bathrooms clean. Nice heat and air. Not real quiet rooms - if you are a light sleeper. Could hear doors slam. I would recommend this to all types of crowds - family, singles, etc. Nice and Clean - Inside and out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHIGANGIRL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during a marriage conference weekend. I was kind of leery of making on line reservations in wonders of how the hotel may be, but have had good experiences with other Best Westerns so I made the reservations. I was pleasantly surprised, the place was beautiful, and the smell of fresh paint was nice too! I am kind of a neat freak, so when it comes to hotels I inspect everything in my room! It was so nice and clean and the set up of our room was great too with a jacuzzi bathtub. I love that the room had a mini kitchenette with micro and frig. The breakfast was a bonus too, with hot food included. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it for the price. The girl working the front desk was very nice and really set the scene for a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Was visiting Western Mich University w/ my daughter so we needed a place to stay for one night. What a great deal! The rooms are huge, with two queen beds, big chair, sleeper sofa, frig, sink, microwave, desk, free wi-fi, and a 42" HD TV - all for 89 bucks. Rooms very clean, everything looks new. Great included breakfast buffet w/ hot entrees and a very nice lady taking care of things. She even let the patrons know that the buffet would be shutting down in 15 minutes and that we should take food back to our rooms if we wanted to. If my daughter ends up attending WMU, this is where I'll be staying every time I visit.

Room Tip: not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rldace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.2 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
#15 of 31 in Kalamazoo
283 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Address: 2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, a newly renovated all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator, and free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy a delicious complimentary deluxe breakfast each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing