We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #20 of 336 Restaurants in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We love this place; we both love Indian food, and this is the place to go for it in this area. Huge selection for vegetarians--and meat eaters, too, but we can't comment on those dishes... There's nothing on the vegetarian menu that isn't delicious, though we are partial to the Paneer Tikka and Gobhi Kaju. Excellent service, delicious food, relaxing and surprisingly upscale decor (it's in a shopping center, but don't hold that against it.)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I loved this place. The hostess recommended a dish for my husband, and while he was reluctant because it had the word "curry" in it, he loved and and so did everybody else. The prices are reasonable and the food is great!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
268 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Another great find on Trip Advisor. The lunch buffet on Friday offered many terrific choices. I sampled everything, and my vegan companion had many choices as well. Always great to find cooks who know what they are doing. Nice ambiance and decor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tromba61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best in Kalamazoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our favorite restaurant in Kalamazoo The tikka masala will be compared to all you have after. LOVE SAFFRON.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott5820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I come to Kalamazoo once a year and my students and I never fail to make the pilgrimage to Saffron. The food is excellent, the service attentive, and the value for the dollar is high. You wil have to go a long way to find better Indian food!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HistorianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing