We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and generous hosts make this a special b & b!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This Victorian mansion has all the amenities--and then some! Happy Hour at 5:30 in the evening, chocolate chip cookies before bedtime, and your choice of breakfast entrees make this bed and breakfast the nicest we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbsvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife and I were visiting from out of town to attend an event at WMU and decided to stay at the Kalamazoo House. Its location is convenient to the university campus and within walking distance to downtown dining and shopping. The rooms were nicely decorated, as was the common areas. Laurel & Terry, the proprietors, were very gracious hosts and made us feel welcome. And the breakfast...unbelieveable! We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendTraveler8072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Quality services and the Hospitality was wonderful! Highly Recommended. Once you stay there, there will be no other place in K-Zoo that will ever compare.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustangsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Food and service was perfect. Rooms are charming and comfortable. The living room with the fireplace is perfect for catching up with friends or relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donovanconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We started our stay with a couples massage, walked to Food Dance for dinner, and ended the evening melting in our 2-person whirlpool. The hosts: Perfect! They were warm, friendly and accommodating, but never intrusive or overly-chatty. The location: Very convenient---we easily walked to a downtown restaurant and enjoyed looking at the architecture of the neighborhood. The house: Beautifully restored, no kitsch, no country---just good taste. The room: Very comfortable with FIVE massive windows - what a magnificent view, particularly of the gorgeous glass sculpture in the art institute next door. Very tastefully refurbished and decorated with gorgeous antique furnishings. The breakfast: We loved that we could choose from lots of delicious-sounding options as if we were at a restaurant! Laurel and Terry were very accommodating about our dietary needs. We were also able to choose what time to eat within a generous time frame they gave us. A very pleasant and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Kalamazoo House one weekend when we were visiting someone there and we were so grateful. We absolutely loved it! It was a cold weekend and the fireplace and cozy atmosphere in the room really helped us relax and have some time to snuggle up. We desperately needed some time away and this place really helped us reconnect. We liked it so much that we decided to stay an extra day. Thank you to Laurel and Terry who were so wonderful and accomodating and the breakfasts were delicious! Thanks too for having gluten free options, constant complimentary beverages, a fridge, and snacks in the evening. It was within walking distance to the restaurant and shopping area downtown which was so convenient. We loved it
1

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reconnectivehealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I wish my business trip to Kalamazoo was an entire week so I could spend more time in this wonderful B&B. The Kalamzoo House has extremely reasonable prices, wireless internet that actually works from your room (and is FREE), some of the best chocolate chip cookies you'll ever have, a killer breakfast and amazing hospitality. ... and it's walking distance from some outstanding restaurants (ask Laurel for her recommendations!). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaandtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
240 reviews
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range: $154 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing