We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, comfy, and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
2 reviews
“Beautiful, comfy, and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Kalamazoo House one weekend when we were visiting someone there and we were so grateful. We absolutely loved it! It was a cold weekend and the fireplace and cozy atmosphere in the room really helped us relax and have some time to snuggle up. We desperately needed some time away and this place really helped us reconnect. We liked it so much that we decided to stay an extra day. Thank you to Laurel and Terry who were so wonderful and accomodating and the breakfasts were delicious! Thanks too for having gluten free options, constant complimentary beverages, a fridge, and snacks in the evening. It was within walking distance to the restaurant and shopping area downtown which was so convenient. We loved it
1

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reconnectivehealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
222
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

I wish my business trip to Kalamazoo was an entire week so I could spend more time in this wonderful B&B. The Kalamzoo House has extremely reasonable prices, wireless internet that actually works from your room (and is FREE), some of the best chocolate chip cookies you'll ever have, a killer breakfast and amazing hospitality. ... and it's walking distance from some outstanding restaurants (ask Laurel for her recommendations!). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaandtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Kalamazoo House as part of our beercation. (Bell's is in Kalamazoo.) The house is beautiful and huge. Everything was in good repair with no signs that we were staying in an "old" house.

Our room on the third floor was a bit of a hike up all those stairs, but it was worth it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large with a two person whirlpool tub and a shower.

After a long day of beer drinking we came back to our "home" for the night. There was no one around on this particular evening, so we sat and watched a movie from the DVD collection that was available in the bar/living room. As we were having a night cap, Terry brought warm cookies for us and chatted a little about Kalamazoo.

We retired to our room and took a warm bath, then slept wonderfully that night.

The next morning we made our way down to breakfast in the dining room with several small tables. After providing coffee and breakfast breads, Laurel told us of the many breakfast entrees available. The french toast was as good as everyone has promised and the Southern Comfort "skillet" was very good as well.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Kalamazoo House. It is a little on the expensive side, but when you consider the luxurious rooms and the gourmet breakfast it is not out of line. If I am ever back in Kalamazoo, I will definitely be staying with Laurel and Terry.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzouras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed in the original owners' master bedroom, and it was lovely. The house is right in downtown Kalamazoo. I could see the Art Museum out of my window. The owners were very friendly and paid attention to the details - cookies with my name on it, and milk. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglibrarian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at Kazoo B&B on New Years Eve and had wonderful time! We could see the fireworks from our room which was only a block away from Bronson park. It was very cold outside and it was snugly warm in our room. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Terry makes a great breakfast. It was called Southern comfort and it was a blend of scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, and many vegetables. Awesome! Definitely a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuchtaofmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

My husband and I were married at Stetson Chapel in Kalamazoo ten years ago this December. We stayed at the Kalamazoo House on our wedding night. It was a wonderful time of reminiscing to come back there again. The new owners are just lovely...very friendly, kind, and welcoming. Our experience was great and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Kalamazoo area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniversary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

This B&B is absolutely stunning. It was built in the 1800's with such ornate details. The owners truly make us feel right at home. They offer a wine, beer and cheese hour where you can meet the other guests - and even served good wine!!
We stayed at a string of very nice B&Bs through our Midwest trip and this was our favorite by far.
-M&M

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetMelissa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing