We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
So Cal
1 review
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Central to most everything SouthWestern Michigan. Laurel and Terry are gracious hosts. Took care of everything I needed. Couple times without my asking! Great chocolate chip cookies, too, you two. Nice being close to friends/family, but still having my 'home' space!
Am looking forward to my next trip already. Soon! Blessings and hugs! ~j~'s =)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA2MidWestGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
222
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

My husband and I returned for our first anniversary, after having our Wedding reception here at this charming B and B. The breakfast is excellent, and there are many choices! The sheets and towels are soft and plush, and feel new. Our favorite room is number 4, which has a wonderful hot tub with scented oils and a super comfy bed! The view from this room is amazing, as it looks upon the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts. Laurel and Terry are amazing hosts, who go to great lengths to treat you like family and make your stay comfortable and your room inviting. Don't miss the delicious wine and cheese in the evening, and cookies at bedtime! YUM! We hope to come back next year, too!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scmeinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I were in Kalamazoo for a friend's wedding, and stayed two nights at Kalamazoo House. The breakfasts were very tasty, and we loved its tradition of leaving fresh-baked cookies (and milk in the fridge!) for guests at night. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltripperDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Kalamazoo House is an elegant victorian mansion, beautifully appointed to the highest 21st century standards. Service is superb and Laurel and Terry Parrott are the warmest, most gracious hosts you will find anywhere.

Carla & Rick Johnson

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineauxChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

Laurel and Terry run a lovely B&B. Good location, in KZoo downtown. Laurel and Terry are very nice. Good food. Good company. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBertrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Kalamazoo House for a visit to Kalamazoo. The B & B was located near downtown, one block from the Civic Theatre and next to the Kalamazoo Institute of Art, which just happened to have a Georgia O'Keefe exhibit going on. K and Western are about 1 mile away, but the house isn't in a student neighborhood.
The breakfast was cooked to our specifications and Terry was trying out a new panini breakfast sandwich (eggs, bacon, brie, tomato, spinach, onions, and avacado on ciabata bread)-delicious. I had the house specialty crispy french toast with bananas and almonds-decadent. This is not a pretentious bed and breakfast. Everything was relaxed. Fresh cookies and milk (or tea) were waiting for us, when we returned from dinner. We missed the "happy hour" 5:30-6:30 at their "bar in the parlour"-you have to see it. We'd return and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srich00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Laurel and Terry were the most amazing hosts. My boyfriend and I stayed one night at their inn and we were seriously amazed. We came in later, but waiting for us was a plate of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies (with our names on them). If that wasn't good enough, they have a little fridge stocked with water, soft drinks, and milk. They even had a little microwave to warm up your milk if you so pleased. They also had a little coffee/tea station right next to the fridge. Our room was really really nice and we even had a whirlpool tub (one of three rooms). The bed was perfectly made and even had a memory foam topper. The breakfast was absolutely suburb. I had banana nut french toast with a fresh fruit plate and coffee and grapefruit juice. My boyfriend had eggs benedict with the same fruit, juice and coffee. Laurel even brought us a plate of fresh tomatoes from her garden. The best part was, if we didn't like either of those choices she would have made anything we wanted. Overall, the Kazoo House was the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berica26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing