We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalamazoo House Is Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
1 review
“Kalamazoo House Is Wonderful”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I were in Kalamazoo for a friend's wedding, and stayed two nights at Kalamazoo House. The breakfasts were very tasty, and we loved its tradition of leaving fresh-baked cookies (and milk in the fridge!) for guests at night. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltripperDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
232
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Kalamazoo House is an elegant victorian mansion, beautifully appointed to the highest 21st century standards. Service is superb and Laurel and Terry Parrott are the warmest, most gracious hosts you will find anywhere.

Carla & Rick Johnson

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineauxChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, MI
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Laurel and Terry run a lovely B&B. Good location, in KZoo downtown. Laurel and Terry are very nice. Good food. Good company. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBertrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Kalamazoo House for a visit to Kalamazoo. The B & B was located near downtown, one block from the Civic Theatre and next to the Kalamazoo Institute of Art, which just happened to have a Georgia O'Keefe exhibit going on. K and Western are about 1 mile away, but the house isn't in a student neighborhood.
The breakfast was cooked to our specifications and Terry was trying out a new panini breakfast sandwich (eggs, bacon, brie, tomato, spinach, onions, and avacado on ciabata bread)-delicious. I had the house specialty crispy french toast with bananas and almonds-decadent. This is not a pretentious bed and breakfast. Everything was relaxed. Fresh cookies and milk (or tea) were waiting for us, when we returned from dinner. We missed the "happy hour" 5:30-6:30 at their "bar in the parlour"-you have to see it. We'd return and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srich00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Laurel and Terry were the most amazing hosts. My boyfriend and I stayed one night at their inn and we were seriously amazed. We came in later, but waiting for us was a plate of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies (with our names on them). If that wasn't good enough, they have a little fridge stocked with water, soft drinks, and milk. They even had a little microwave to warm up your milk if you so pleased. They also had a little coffee/tea station right next to the fridge. Our room was really really nice and we even had a whirlpool tub (one of three rooms). The bed was perfectly made and even had a memory foam topper. The breakfast was absolutely suburb. I had banana nut french toast with a fresh fruit plate and coffee and grapefruit juice. My boyfriend had eggs benedict with the same fruit, juice and coffee. Laurel even brought us a plate of fresh tomatoes from her garden. The best part was, if we didn't like either of those choices she would have made anything we wanted. Overall, the Kazoo House was the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berica26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

added to all the surrounding charm -- the art museum, a beautiful common area, gothic cathedrals -- a real find!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We decided to go to Kalamazoo on a whim and chose the Kalamazoo House based on user reviews, proximity to places we wanted to visit, and online photos. In a large Victorian house, it is situated within walking distance of everything in Kalamazoo. Upon arrival, Laurel and Terry treated us like family, offering a cold beer, giving us a brief history of the house, and a map of the area with points of interest. That evening, they happened to be hosting an event for a local charity, which impressed us. The room was cozy, clean, and very quiet. Breakfast was delivered with utmost friendliness and was delicious. This is how I imagine bed & breakfasts should be run, it was nice to see it in actual practice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclear_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
197 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing