We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real comfortable, charming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
akron
1 review
“a real comfortable, charming place to stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

added to all the surrounding charm -- the art museum, a beautiful common area, gothic cathedrals -- a real find!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
228
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We decided to go to Kalamazoo on a whim and chose the Kalamazoo House based on user reviews, proximity to places we wanted to visit, and online photos. In a large Victorian house, it is situated within walking distance of everything in Kalamazoo. Upon arrival, Laurel and Terry treated us like family, offering a cold beer, giving us a brief history of the house, and a map of the area with points of interest. That evening, they happened to be hosting an event for a local charity, which impressed us. The room was cozy, clean, and very quiet. Breakfast was delivered with utmost friendliness and was delicious. This is how I imagine bed & breakfasts should be run, it was nice to see it in actual practice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclear_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We had a room for our wedding night, and were amazed upon arrival. The room was gorgeous and they'd thought of everything from make up wipes to take off wedding make up to bowls of bubble bath for their jaccuzi tub, to a journal where past visitors suggested places to eat and things to see in the area. Breakfast was out of this world, and the cook himself came to see us to make sure it was to our liking. The owners are fabulous people who make sure you have everything you could possibly require to make your stay a home away from home experience. We loved it!

Honeymooners Matt and Andrea Cook

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea9j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The owners at this B & B prove themselves to be great stewards of comfort and satisfaction. Anyone looking for a wonderful stay in downtown kalamazoo should book this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Everything, from the moment Lauren Parrot met us at the front door, to the moment she wished us bon voyage, was just perfect. Great food, fabulous architecture and atmosphere, extremely comfortable, quiet rooms, many amenities that I've never experienced at other B&B's: wine and cheese between 5:30 and 6:30, cookies and milk with a microwave to heat it up for before bed, constant access to hot water kettle for tea, cocoa, cold water available in small refrigerators at all times -- and all this at no extra expense. But, one of the best facets of our stay was the genuine grace, good humor, and comfortable feeling we had with Laurel and Terry.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrauMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Kalamazoo House B & B was just amazing. Laurel and Terry were so friendly and welcoming! There was not one thing we would have changed. It's decorated soooo beautifully, clean, comfortable and so relaxing. From the comfy bed to the whirlpool tub we enjoyed it all, not to mention the wine at happy hour to the cookies and milk at night! Our only regret was having to pass on Terry's fabulous homemade breakfast as were still full from the wedding the night before. We did however enjoy the fresh fruit and coffee! If anyone is considering a stay in Kalamazoo this is the place to be! Enjoy, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETHELANDFREDDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We spent three consecutive nights at Kalamazoo House and even gave "tours" to family and friends while we were there. Terry and Laurel Parrott truly know how to operate a B&B by giving their guests the experience of a lifetime - with incredible made-to-order breakfasts, wine receptions in the evening, and cookies and milk each night. They are open, positive, caring hosts while offering a sense of privacy, comfort and peace. If you enjoy Victorian homes, this B&B is for you! It's conveniently located in downtown Kalamazoo within easy walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and museums. Warning-be prepared to feel pampered and relaxed! The Parrotts will do everything possible to make your stay the very best. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestyles8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
5.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
Hampton Inn Kalamazoo
#3 of 31 in Kalamazoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 447 W South St, Kalamazoo, MI 49007-4620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance and modern convenience in downtown Kalamazoo, Michigan--just steps from all the museums, theaters, fine dining and nightlife this vibrant city offers. Ten comfortable guest rooms provide private ensuite baths, cable TV/DVD, individually-controlled heat and AC, and free highspeed WiFi. Some rooms even have one- or two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy our delicious hot breakfast every day with choice of individually-prepared entrees at the time of your choosing, and evening refreshments daily. Voted by guests as one of the 15 best B&B's in the country for meeting other guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalamazoo House b&b
The Kalamazoo House Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing