We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and people”
Review of Stuart Avenue Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamazoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stuart Avenue Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalamazoo B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place and people”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family group spent two nights at the Stuart Avenue Inn in June. The house is gorgeous, with elaborate moldings and beautifully done Victorian decor. I continually lusted after the gorgeous wallpapers and details. The grounds are beautiful and sitting in the dining room frames lovely views of them. Chris and Dana couldn't have been nicer. They were very helpful and fun to talk with. The breakfasts were delicious and my Mom is still talking about Dana's perfect omlette. My room was in the Friends and Family Suite on the third floor. We were impressed with all the space and amenities, if a bit hot during our stay in the middle of a heat wave. My parents enjoyed the Bartlett Room with its king sized bed. This is a good find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellerWaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
41
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had some last-minute college graduation planning to do, and Chris and Dana had no room at the inn, but said they'd keep my details handy. Two weeks before the big day, a room opened up in their carriage house for our two nights. Perfect. Across the street from both Kalamazoo College and our son's apartment, we landed in heaven. Dana apologized for a plumbing problem that had left a strain on the ceiling and caused some trim to be removed. She told us she worked to find us substitute lodging - and pay the difference if more - but the whole town was booked. So she told us we'd be getting the second night at the inn free. This was extraordinary value from very good people. The place runs on wit, whimsy, grace and Belvedere, a big, gentle part-hound who has the run of the place and knows not to cop bites of the most-serious b & b breakfast I can remember - and I've seen three dozen countries while living in Europe for three years. A ginger and chevre cheesepie, ham and rosemary muffins, fresh fruit salad, and much more. They invited our grad to breakfast and greeted him with a flute of champagne. When we had to leave by 6:30 a.m. the last day, we were greeted with a to-go bag, stuffed with more of the same goodies. Mmmm. The room was comfortable, clean, stocked with intriguing books (David Lodge, Salman Rushdie) from previous guests, and overlooked their lush, gigantic garden and grounds. There was a good amount of construction material in the gravel driveway by our door, but presumably that's because Chris has been working on the place. I only wish we'd tried this place a few years ago.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Stuart Avenue Inn is a perfect B&B. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful when I needed them to be, and respected my privacy when I needed that. I stayed here while my daughter was visiting Kalamazoo College;the location was convenient to the college and to downtown Kalamazoo. The room I stayed in was well-appointed, comfortable and clean, with a nice sitting area and a kitchenette. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place for anyone coming to Kalamazoo for any purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Absweetmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We just returned from a Labor Day weekend at the Stuart Avenue Inn in Kalamazoo, MI, and we were very impressed at the accommodations. We arrived at the Inn a bit early, and even though there was a wedding on the grounds, Chris and Dana (and Belvedere--more on him later) gave us a warm welcome and tour of the Inn. We stayed in the Bartlett Room, which has a comfortable king-sized bed (best sleep I've had in a long time!) and antique furnishings, along with a TV, refrigerator, and microwave. Although the shower is somewhat cozy, the bathroom is clean and inviting and supplied with soap made by a local artisan.
Chris and Dana were helpful when asked what restaurants to visit and how to find the local bicycle trails. Belvedere, their more than friendly dog, acted as the Inn's greeter, always ready to welcome you back from your day's activities and to make you feel as if you've just come home. They even said that they were hoping to award Belvedere with the "world's most petted dog," and I believe he has the title by a longshot!
The morning breakfasts were tasty, and felt a bit indulgent, with offerings such as lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberry sauce to eggs with southwest potatoes and fresh fruit. Although we didn't require a special menu, apparently, with notice, they will honor special diets and restrictions (if you do not have any special restrictions, I would recommend you sample their daily specials--don't worry about calories!).
The location is ideal--close to downtown Kalamazoo with Kalamazoo College directly across the street. The Kalamazoo River Valley Trail, a 13-mile paved trail, is nearby, and a short 5-mile bike ride on this trail will take you to the much longer Kal Haven Trail. The Kal Haven Trail is a 33.5 mile crushed limestone trail that leads from Kalamazoo to South Haven. Although we did not ride the entire Kal Haven Trail, we did ride the Kalamazoo River Valley Trail and found it scenic and somewhat challenging.
All in all, we had an enjoyable weekend and if you find yourself in the Kalamazoo area, we highly recommend a stay at the Stuart Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ILTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Stuart Inn is an outstanding architectural gem. A beautiful, spacious, Victorian building surounded by a large garden. Impeccably decorated, extreamly comfortable, a sumptuous breakfast and the Inn keepers are so very personable I feel like a welcomed family member. They also have a wonderful library that you can select form during your stay.
Our daughter goes to Kalamazoo College and Stuart Inn is just a block away from the college. It is great to have such a close, comfortable place to stay. We can easily walk over and take part in any campus activities, or relax at the Inn until our daughter has time to visit us.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but I prefer the South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoCubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panhandle, WV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Stuart Avenue Inn is precisely what I look for in a B&B. The home itself is lovely. Inside is the precision woodwork and detail which makes older homes so charming. Our room even had a mini-kitchen area. Although the inn is just off of a main road which goes downtown, the park sized gardens of the inn provide a buffer making for a quiet room for sleep. The patio is a great place to bring a bottle of wine and make new friends. Should I ever return to Kalamazoo, I will return to the Stuart Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVSails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Staying at this bed and breakfast was great....I would give them at 10 out of 10. The food was out of this world and the place is unreal... the inn keepers make you feel like you are part of the family...
What a great place to stay... Yes, we will stay again if we are close by at all....

Say hi, if you go there for us...
Roger and Marty
Scottsdale, AZ

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apinsights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
Comfort Inn Kalamazoo
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
104 reviews
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart Avenue Inn

Property: Stuart Avenue Inn
Address: 229 Stuart Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49007
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stuart Avenue Inn blends history with hospitality to provide guests with the classic B&B experience. The Queen Anne house, built in 1886 sits across from Kalamazoo College and within walking distance of downtown restaurants, pubs, and nightlife. The Inn includes 8 guest rooms with private baths, TV and air-conditioning. Rooms and decor range from Victorian, to contemporary, to casual. The Inn includes a third floor suite perfect for larger parties. Breakfast is included with sweet and savory options served every morning. Vegetarian and vegan options available. Free parking. Free WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing