We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations Realized”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jonesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rooms at Grayfield
Ranked #2 of 2 Jonesville B&B and Inns
Northvale, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Great Expectations Realized”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

An Open Letter to Dee and Grigor;

I just wished to tell you that, although it was short, my stay at
your beautiful home was truly a pleasure.

The location, serenity, cleanliness, and hospitality exceeded my
expectations and insured a good night’s sleep… which you know I surely
needed.

I may return to the Jonesville area later this year, and now I know where to stay if I do.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Dee & Grigor are the epitome of hospitality! What lovely people and equally lovely B&B! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2SightSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The perfect melding of Midwestern hospitality and sophisticated ambiance, The Rooms at Grayfield is our favorite place to be when we’re away from home. To be honest, we typically don't stay in B&Bs. But then, Grayfield isn't typical.

With two kids at Hillsdale College over the years and another enrolling next year, we are pleased to be frequent guests at Grayfield. Dee is an accomplished and creative chef, and she and Grigor are warm, fun, and interesting hosts. Our college kids are always eager to join us at Grayfield; we all enjoy and appreciate the blend of privacy and conviviality we experience there with the Hasteds and our fellow guests.

The thoughtful restoration of this historic 1890s train depot has created an ideal environment that feels like home, improved by the luxury and pampering we enjoy. The guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. Added in a recent remodeling of this historic property, they afford the feel of a modern, yet traditional, fine small hotel. The inviting, extensive grounds are beautifully landscaped and offer a quiet retreat—except for the very occasional passing of a train, which is always an unexpected treat.

A recent graduation dinner was an especially elegant and fun affair. The Hasteds’ main residence in the old depot includes a charming living room with a fireplace and vaulted wood ceilings that easily accommodated our large group, and our dinner was fantastic. Our guests, some of whose dining and lodging tastes can be rather exacting, were obviously very pleased and impressed with Grayfield.

We’ll continue visiting The Rooms at Grayfield long after our last graduation. Hillsdale County is brimming with stuff we do when we’re not attending college-related activities. County fairs, antiquing, fine and casual dining, autumnal Sunday drives amid orchards and hardwood forests, and an Amish bakery, are all minutes away from the bounty that is Grayfield.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jafsandpds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The 1st time we stayed at 'The Rooms at Grayfield', the gracious proprietors, Dee and Grigor Hasted, greeted us like we were family.. After numerous re-visits, the warmth has only increased along with the special touches and elegant appointments to the already outstanding accommodations.

The tastefully appointed individual rooms, private bathroom facilities, and design style is reminiscent of a fine European hotelier. We especially appreciate that while 'Grayfield' is actually an historic landmark, (the original Train Depot for Jonesville, Michigan), the Hasted's haven't tried to turn this classical jewel in to a stuffy museum. It's delightful to 'feel' as though you've entered a time of 100 years past, while delighting in the contemporary creature comforts of this extraordinary place!

If you're lucky, and you hear the deep and distant whistle of the classic locomotive approaching the old depot, throw on one of the provided lush and warm terrycloth bathrobes, and run to the sliding door by the breakfast room. Listen to the rumble and coal-engined beast as it slowly approaches the historic Grayfield, and wave as the engineer tips his cap to you as the train passes by! Then, take a walk with your hot tea or coffee in hand about the Grayfield grounds, and enjoy the splendid gardens, the koi pond, and the overall charm of this very dear place ~ where you can escape from the busy world of every day life.

Trust us, this is a VERY special place, indeed.!! ~ David R. and Bonnie J. Hough, Bingham Farms, Michigan

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, MI
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had our wedding at the Rooms at Grayfield; the entire process was painless and the wedding day was perfect. The propietor, Dee, was easy to work with, and she helped us plan the day and choose the perfect menu. She also took care of ordering the tent and chairs and tables we would need. She is prepared for anything. We thought we might have to have the wedding inside because of the weather, so she prepared the inside as well as the outside for the wedding, The day of the wedding was beautiful, the gardens at the inn were the perfect setting, and everything went so smoothly. The food was absolutely delicious, and the tent and tables were also outstanding. The service was excellent. We then stayed there the night of the wedding, and the room was outstanding. It is very large, the furniture is both comfortable and elegant, and the bathroom is impressive. We loved everything about the day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I had wanted to stay at the Rooms at Grayfield for a while. As our plans for our trip changed slightly, I was able to make that a reality. It was a wonderful stay. We were there for one night and truly enjoyed it. I think the atmosphere is what really sets things off from any other place I've ever stayed. The room was handsomely beautiful and quite a nice size. When we arrived, the door in our room overlooking the garden was open, and we could hear the water feature below. At the encouragement of Dee & Grigor, we took a stroll through the fantastic landscaping. We were heading to dinner, but if we had time, there were plenty of places to sit down and take in the surroundings. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and was the perfect start to our day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We had a wedding shower for my brother's fiancé at Grayfield today. What a fabulous place! Dee was very easy to work with in planning our party. Our tables were set up in the garden with beautiful linens. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We got many compliments from our guests about the wonderful food, atmosphere and all around good time.
Thank you so much Dee for helping to make our shower a success!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccadb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jonesville
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Hillsdale
Days Inn Hillsdale
#1 of 3 in Hillsdale
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Jonesville/Hillsdale
3.7 mi away
Dow Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Coldwater
Hampton Inn Coldwater
#1 of 6 in Coldwater
281 reviews
16.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coldwater
15.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Coldwater
Red Roof Inn Coldwater
#5 of 6 in Coldwater
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rooms at Grayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms at Grayfield

Property: The Rooms at Grayfield
Address: 310 W Chicago St, Jonesville, MI 49250-1110
Location: United States > Michigan > Jonesville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jonesville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rooms at Grayfield Inn is housed in a classically-designed and recently-remodeled building attached by a sunroom to an 1890's Lake Shore and Michigan Southern passenger train station. Guest rooms, including a fully handicapped-accessible suite, are in the newer building. Catered events are held in the depot, on the brick patio, and in the extensive gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing