We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Internet - Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The staff from the front desk to the GM are exceptional. And that should have been the focus of my review.

Unfortunately, I need to work evenings when I stay in Jackson. And the internet connection here is very very very poor.

I've run www.speedtest.net tests on multiple occasions. And the internet speed is NEVER above 512k. Seriously? My home internet service is 20Mbps.

I know that this property is not owner by Marriott Corp, so I'm not sure anything can be done to bring this essential service up to par.

If there was a Marriott option within 10 miles I'd never stay here. But there's not. Do I really need to lose my Platinum status because I can't work from the Fairfield Inn?!?!?

It's 2011 guys, a good internet connection isn't a luxury any more!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoManyPlaces2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

Had a great time here. clean large room , nice staff, great breakfast, and some of the best free cookies in the world..try the chocolate ones.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jibjab b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

A nice Fairfield. Was not great, but not bad either. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, staff nice. What kept me from giving it 4 stars is it is getting a tad worn, the bath towels were thin and cheap, etc. Overall, though, it was nice. Some minor upgrades and attention to detail and it would be worthy of four stars. Even so, it is a nice place to stay, although expensive for what you get (and don't get) compared to other hotels in this chain.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Clean rooms, great location near the mall & the restaurants. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMissouri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

If you set your expectations that this is a Fairfield Inn, then you will be satisfied. The room was clean, but thin walls and ceiling. I heard footsteps/stomping in the room above all night. When I called down to the front desk at 4:00 in the morning to complain, they said they had a late checkin with a small boy. Not sure what that boy was doing up at that hour, but it went on and on, and you could hear every step. The pool is okay, but it's right where you walk in, so it's a fishbowl, literally. Breakfast I thought was very marginal. Bagels and cereal ok, of course. They tried to add some breakfast sandwiches that you heat up in the microwave, but they were pretty bad. I had to ask the front desk people to empty the over-flowing and dripping trash cans in the breakfast area. They had hard cooked eggs, which I applauded, but they were pretty overcooked and tough. We stayed here to go to the University of Michigan football game in Ann Arbor. Not the closest location. Probably won't have reason to stay here again. If we go to Ann Arbor we'll stay closer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I just want to tell everyone to be sure to check your credit card bill after staying here. I was charged for the stay even though I had pre-paid by booking through Hotels.com. I called the hotel and they promptly refunded me and made a sincere apology. Simple mistake. Would still stay there again. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I was vacationing by myself in July 2010, and my travels took me to Jackson where I stayed at the Fairfield Inn on a Sunday night. In general, I can say that I was very pleased. Normally the Fairfield would have been out of my price range, but fortunately I have a friend who works for Marriott and was able to provide me with a friends/family discount. (If it weren't for that discount, I would not have stayed here.)

I was so lucky. This hotel was absolutely wonderful. It was very clean, very quiet, conveniently located near U.S. 127 and I-94, and so on. The bed was really comfortable, and I was able to enjoy a dip in the pool and a soak in the hot tub by the lobby. Because it was a Sunday night and I figured most visitors that night were business travelers, there were no kids at the pool or anything. (In fact, I was the only one at the pool so I was able to read my book in peace and quiet.)

When I checked in, Amber was very friendly and helped me by offering information about local restaurants. I also appreciated the fact that the lobby had a computer that guests could use to browse the internet, check their e-mail, etc. (I don't travel with a laptop so it's a nice treat when hotels offer this.)

I was also delighted by the variety of food options that were available for breakfast. Lots of good food...waffles, breakfast sandwiches you could heat up, bagels, English muffins, etc.

I would be very happy to have the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank New_friends_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jackson
Hampton Inn Jackson
#1 of 11 in Jackson
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Jackson
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jackson
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson

Address: 2395 Shirley Dr, Jackson, MI 49202-1521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $108 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 7 minutes from Jackson County Airport, our hotel is a convenient stay for both business and leisure travelers in the Jackson, MI area. We are surrounded by a variety of restaurants, attractions, and things to do in Jackson, MI. Nascar fans will find out hotel is a 20 minute drive from Michigan International Speedway. Near local shopping at the Westwood Mall and outdoor adventures such as Cascade Falls, there is never a shortage of activities for visitors to Jackson, MI. Our Marriott hotel strives to provide guests with everything they need to make their stay as comfortable as possible. We provide free WiFi, access to our on-site fitness center, a business center, pool & hot tub. Each morning guests are greeted with a complimentary breakfast featuring hot and healthy options to start your day off right. Marriott Rewards members will earn points while staying at our Jackson, MI hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Jackson Hotel Jackson
Fairfield Jackson
Jackson Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing