We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customerservice Zero!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2696 Bob McClain Drive, Jackson, MI 49202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Jackson
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Customerservice Zero!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As we opened the door to the room, a stench of smoke slapped us in the face. I called downstairs, and the advice I was given was to turn the air conditioner for the evening to try to the clean the air. It was 35 degrees out. They were not able to move us because the hotel was full. I used Febreeze but unfortunately that just made the room smell like smoke mixed with Febreeze. Upon check out I noted my concern and the gentleman told me that a manager would be at 4: p.m. and would call me. No phone call. On Monday, I called the Hotel and I spoke to a Manager for a possible credit, and the response: "Well you decided to stay at the hotel after you saw the room". Response: Really? I pre paid the room and it was 10:00 p.m. where was I going to go? Answer: "That is not our problem. Unfortunately, some people break the rules and smoke any way. "

Customer service at it's finest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi-town0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Per our conversation on 11/11/2013 I truly apologize that the room you were registered in smelled of smoke. We thouroughly clean and deodorize any rooms that guest(s) have smoked in having ignored the no smoking law. I sincerely apologize that there was still a lingering smoke odor. If we are not full we do not rent a room that has been smoked in. If we are full in order to honor all reservations we do rent a room that was smoked in after a thorough cleaning and deoderizing. Again, I sincerely apologize and hope to see you in the future under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our small group stayed one evening on a weekend and we were impressed with
the cleanliness, great customer service and attention to detail. The rooms were
very nice and pristine. I hope this newer hotel stays beautiful over the years.
Morning breakfast was limited to a buffet, but it was priced well.

Room Tip: Ask if there are parties on your floor if you want to avoid late nite noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments. I am very happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just needed a quick place to stay while visiting Albion College. Had a very afforable king-bed suite. Internet was good. Restaurant nice (although service was a bit slow). Nice area of Jackson. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LisainMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We truly appreciate any and all feedback. I agree that we have a great location. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to the area. Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Overall I would say the stay was good, the staff was very helpful when we needed to find a dry cleaners. The room was just okay nothing too special for the price. My fiance and I had a 2 queen room, it was nice and cozy and seemed clean. We had found just a few things in the bathroom. There was a hair in the shower and a few stains in the tub, but nothing terrible. There was also a stain on the comforter in-between the two sheets that was not a huge deal for us. There is a nice breakfast each morning but you will have to pay extra. We did have one big issue there was a team traveling through that kept slamming doors all night, called down the the front desk to have it taken care of and by 12 am when the team and supervisors when to bed the doors finally stopped getting slammed.

So overall not terrible but for the price probably would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Angela C,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This Holiday Inn is quite new with a clean, modern decor. We had a regular King room on the highway side on the 4th floor and didn't notice any noise at all. Everything was clean and we had no problems at all during our 4 night stay. We heard absolutely no noise from the other rooms around us, or from the hallway. The wifi was fast and free, elevators were quick, and the lobby is attractive. We didn't use the restaurant, pool, or fitness room so can't comment on those. I was surprised that breakfast is not included - but maybe we're used to HI-Express where they do this. There are plenty of nearby places to eat and shop, and Starbuck's is just one exit east of the hotel. Staff was efficient and friendly. It's always nice to stay in a newer hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us. We do have a good location with easy access. I hope that you are able to try our restaurant on your next visit as we have wonderful food. Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope to meet you on your next visit to the area. Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is brand new, with all the sparkle and cleanliness that implies. The main indoor pool is small but serviceable, and they have an excellent baby pool for the little guys. Food in the restaurant is average; nothing exciting. The maid for our room could have been a little more meticulous (never cleaned the coffee maker, and left us without coffee cups one day). But overall, a comfortable experience, and good for kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. All feedback is reviewed and discussed with the team members. I agree that we have a great "kiddie pool". I hope you will travel to the Jackson area again soon and I have the opportunity to meet you. Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with the service. We got in to our non smoking room around midnight only to find the prior guests had smoked in the room (the whole hotel is no - smoking) when we called to the front desk to tell them it wasn't us and we wanted to make sure would not be surcharged, bit were willing to stay. Judi upgraded us for the trouble. She turned a negative into a positive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilou B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We make every effort to insure that this non-smoking hotel stays non-smoking per the law. Unfortunatley, on occasion, a guest(s) does smoke in a room and we thoroughly clean and deodorize those rooms. I am so happy Judy was able to make the negative a positive, as that is what we constantly strive for. I hope to meet you on your next visit. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jackson
Hampton Inn Jackson
#3 of 10 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn Jackson
Baymont Inn Jackson
#5 of 10 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Jackson
Super 8 Jackson
#9 of 10 in Jackson
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd

Address: 2696 Bob McClain Drive, Jackson, MI 49202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Jackson NW - Airport Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jackson Northwest Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing